Been there, done that, still like it…

So, I was reading in Zite and people mentioning this wonderful web application called Flipsnack.  I went to the website, read a little bit, and thought “This is way cool”.  I know what I could do with it.

  • I could export my blog (say the month of October) from WordPress as an XML file;
  • I could upload that file to Blogbooker to create a PDF file of my blog;
  • I could then upload that to Flipsnack and create a flippable version of my blog.

As I got to the third step, I got this strong deja vu feeling.  The process seems so familiar…

I flipped over to my blog management tool and did a search for Flipsnack.  Man….  I had done all of this before AND blogged about it.  It goes back to May and the title was “Wish We’d Blogged More“.  The concept was to create a flippable book of student blogs to close off the year.

It seemed like a good idea at the time.  The more that I think about it, the more I like the concept so let me recover from my Groundhog Day moment and say this should serve as inspiration to start blogging now and continue throughout the year so that you can create a great flippable blog book at the end of the year.  How’s that?

Oh, and just so that the work doesn’t go to waste … here’s the link to my October blog posts.

2 thoughts on “Been there, done that, still like it…

  1. Kathy Zoghby says:

    Doug,

    I have been reading some of your recent blogs for a college class assignment. I must say that you have blown me away. You are a technological genius and I feel like such a baby in comparison. I can’t believe how much I have learned from your blog! At the same time, I can’t believe how much I’ve seen on your blog that leaves me completely lost! I still have so much to learn.

    I did love the Flipsnack application and the book you created of your 2011 blogs. I am going to open an account to Flipsnack myself and recommend it to my classmates.

    We sure have come full circle…..Instead of flipping through books….we are now creating books on line…and flipping through electronic pages! I guess books are here to stay…they are just getting reinvented in new and amazing ways!

    Again, I’ve really enjoyed visiting your blog!

    Kathy Zoghby
    University of South Alabama
    EDM310

    Like

  2. Thank you for your kind words, Kathy. I’m not sure that I would agree with your choice of words but I’m glad that you are going to spread the word about Flipsnack. I think that the bottom line is that it encourages kids to write and that’s a good thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

