Looking for local Q & A

I browse through Quora periodically.  I’ve posted a few questions there and have received some interesting responses.  I find that, at times, it gives me answer quicker than going to a search engine and weeding my way through machine curated content.  Quora, by its nature, always generates people answers.  Of course, you have to critically look at the answers because they are generated by people.  They can be equally as wrong as they can be right.  You can see my original blog entry about Quora here.

A couple of visits to Quora ago, I noticed that they had a mobile application.  I thought that was interesting and so inspired I downloaded it.  After all, you might by on the go and need to have a question answered.  Now, the mobile application has the same sorts of functionality that the web version would have, including push notifications.  That’s helpful to know when there are changes to your account.

But, there’s another really interesting feature.  That’s the “Nearby” option on the menu bar.  Selecting the button lets you find out what people around you are asking.  I think that’s cool, tried it, and realized that I live in a very boring neighbourhood and probably nobody uses it anyway.

I then noticed that, in addition to the local content, there’s a Google map in the upper window of the application.  I’ve seen maps like that that are scrollable and I’ve seen them where they’re just a graphic image.  If they are scrollable, often you can change your point of reference.  So, while nothing interesting is happening in my neighbourhood, I’ll bet that there are some questions just north of us in Detroit, so I scrolled there.

This looks interesting.  I wonder what questions were asked in midtown.

I check through and find something of interest.

 

Now, that could really be helpful for visitors.

When we think of “location services”, I think that many people think of Google Maps and some of the other traditional restaurant applications.  My mind is spinning when I think of the possibilities of finding out what sort of questions people in a location are asking.  It’s one thing to search by a topic or keyword, but by location?  Very interesting.  It puts a new spin on research.

Leave a Reply

