Sharing

Well, well, well…

I thought that all of a sudden I had become popular.  Every time, it seems, that I turn the computer on these days, I have new friends on Google Plus.  Could it be that all of a sudden I’m breaking out of my shell?

No such luck!

Google Plus now lets you share circles with others.  I’m guessing that some of my friends are sharing their circles with ohers and consequently I’m being found.  Regardless, the connections are growing and it’s giving me great new reading and ideas.  In return, I share back – typically announcements of new posts to this blog. 

I decided to share a circle of my own for anyone who is interested.  Since the beginning of Google Plus, I’ve maintained my own circle of "Ontario Educators".  It’s up around 100 members now.

If you’ve got a circle, you can share it as well.  Just select the circle you’d like to share and look for the new link "Share this circle" and you’ve done the deed.

The announcement that you’re sharing appears in your stream.  So, if you want to take advantage of my offer, go to my stream and look for the announcement.

There’s a lot of people doing this sharing now.  You just have to find them.  How?  This is Google, after all so just search for them! 

You’ll find all kinds of circles that are being shared based upon whatever organization structure the original author used.  Of course, you can refine the search, i.e. "shared this circle" education if you want to target a particular type of user.

Go ahead – make your network grow and if you’ve got a great collection, consider sharing it with others.

Powered by Qumana

2 Replies to “Sharing”

  1. Doug
    Do we know anything about security in this new circle sharing concept? I can’t find anything on the G+ site.
    I’m seeing a lot of what I would consider private info. like cell phone #’s listed in members of these shared circles. I’m assuming people chose to share that with individuals, who in turn may have shared that person via a circle. And so on, and so on.
    Any thoughts?

    Like

  2. I would think that the security of the circle is no different than the security of the original. You’re just making it available to a wider audience. So, hold your friends close and your enemies closer. Cell phone numbers posted anywhere but in private email is risky at best and to post to anything public that someone could extend further as you not, just lets it head to places unknown.

    Like

Leave a Reply

