Multiple Browsers

I got a question after yesterday’s post about how I focussed on using the Firefox browser – aren’t you a Google Chrome type of guy?  Actually, for the most part, Chrome is my go-to browser but on my computers I have a number of different browsers.  Even with all of the sophisticated development, there are still some web sites that don’t work well with certain browsers.  Interestingly, the conversations sort of revolve around Internet Explorer and then everyone else.

As a content developer, I know that it is so important to test my efforts with many browsers just so that people don’t get a bad experience when they visit the sites.

But, just this morning, I was reminded of a practical reason why I need to have alternatives to Google Chrome.  The local newspaper, The Windsor Star, is part of the Canada.Com network.  I’ve always had sort of random problems with some content on Canada.Com websites.  The most notable is the Windsor Star although I had experienced the same random thing with the Vancouver Sun as well.  Now, I don’t know if it’s related to Chrome or any of the extensions that I have installed but the problem is the same in the Safari browser as well.  It’s like they don’t know how to handle images embedded with text.  The result is a mess that looks like this.

(Windsor Star, September 20, captured by Google Chrome)

And, it turns out that this really was a story that I wanted to read.  If you don’t know, there’s a MAJOR construction to create an alternative way of crossing the Detroit River to get into the United States.  It’s affecting so much in Essex County.  So, while Chrome and Safari both had issues with it, I know that I have Rockmelt, Opera, and Firefox on the computer.  Typically, what I do when this happens is copy the URL and paste it into an alternative browser.  In this case, all three of the alternative browsers render the content perfectly.  This is what it should have looked like.

(Windsor Star, September 20, captured by Google Chrome)

It’s a big difference.  It’s not consistent – articles with similar layouts render properly.  But, using Hackasaurus, I can now do a little digging.  In Firefox, I activate the Googles and take a look behind the scene.

So, if it was my webpage and I was debugging, I see that there are a couple of classes and a resizeImage that I might begin with.

Until the code is straightened out at the source, I will just continue to use an alternate browser when the going gets tough.  Why not just switch browsers?  Unfortunately, I run into similar problems but only in the opposite direction.  Until the internet becomes a universally friendly browsing place, this is my way of coping!

Powered by Qumana

3 Replies to “Multiple Browsers”

  1. Browser compatibility has been an issue since day one of the browser wars, and switching browsers based on the website you’re visiting has been a necessary practice as a result. Fortunately, a plugin for Firefox, and later, an extension for Chrome, came out that helps, at least for PCs. It’s called IE Tab, and will simply use a hook into Internet Explorer to display content in your existing browser as if it’s using IE.

    When you visit a site that doesn’t render correctly in Chrome or Firefox (like the Windsor Star, which Doug mentions above), simply click the IE Tab icon and the page quickly reloads as if it’s running in Internet Explorer.

    For Firefox, you can download it here:

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/ie-tab/

    For Chrome, it is available here:

    https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/hehijbfgiekmjfkfjpbkbammjbdenadd

    Like

Leave a Reply

