Revolutionize?

Four Ways QR Codes Could Revolutionize Education” was the title of the article that appeared in my Zite reader this morning.  I tucked it away in my Diigo account after a quick read for a second, longer read later.  Then, the lawn needed cutting so I got a chance to think about the article again.

I think that I must have a different concept of what “revolutionize” means than the author.  I’ve been intrigued with QR Codes and have shared some of my learning in this blog as I dug into the concept.  I can see some uses for the codes.

  • In classrooms where students have difficulties keying long URLs into a browser, scanning a code could quickly point the student to an internet or other address;
  • In a trophy cabinet, scanning a code could send you to a repository of pictures, movies, stories, etc. outlining the winning that went into obtaining the trophy;
  • Certainly, anytime that you can get rid of mounds of paper and point people with devices to electronic resources has a nice feel to it;
  • You can pack a bunch of information into a small area;

But revolutionary?

I’m not so sure that I’m ready to use my R to call the suggestions in the article revolutionary.

  • Digital Portfolios;
  • Connecting with Parents;
  • Engaging Students;
  • Easing the Transition into College

The above are important things that should be foremost in everyone’s mind already anyway.  I really can’t see the leap that having a QR Code would make that would revolutionize anything except perhaps the clerical work.  I see it as a parallel to using tinyurl.  It’s nice; it’s convenient; it saves a great deal of keying; it’s accurate.  But revolutionary?

I’m not ready to make that leap.  Are you?

Powered by Qumana

2 thoughts on “Revolutionize?

  1. I like the way you never go for the jugular, you just gently point out another way of looking at something. I’m particularly relieved that you did so in this case, as my definition of revolutionize would be as unconventional. I became intrigued with QR codes when I first read about them on Twitter. Intrigue mounted to unadulterated excitement when I read Tom Barrett’s suggestions on how to use them in the classroom. I eagerly shared the information with any and all who would listen – and similar to my reaction, many were taken with how different this tool was in the world of ed. That made it feel a bit like a revolution to some of us. I know i react with effusive excitement to anything that will support all, young and old alike, in learning – so, it doesn’t take much for me to think I’m participating in a revolution 😉

    Like

  2. Thanks, Noeline. I think you can disagree without being disrespectful. If the author takes the time to put forth their thoughts, who am I to aggressively disagree. I just didn’t agree with the original premise.

    Like

Leave a Reply

