Morning Smiles

One of the things that get me going and smiling in the morning is a look at morning comics.  Now, the local paper only has one comic that they secure from some source.  How do I get more?  I created an account on comics.com and selected a few of my favourites.  Overnight, they would appear in my mailbox.  Just open the email message and there they are. 

The nice thing about is approach is that the collection that I chose has more diversity than any of the newspapers that I could actually purchase.  Through this selection process, I could select a comic that might appear in the Detroit News, another from the Windsor Star, another from the Toronto Star, and so on.  I can get them all in once place.

We’ve been warned for a while now that comics.com would be merged with gocomics.com to provide a bigger selection.  That merger took place this weekend and, instead of my regular comics, I got a notice to log into the new service and migrate my account.  I did so and the new account came pre-seeded with a few comics.  But, I wasn’t locked into them – the front page indicated that there were 151 comics that were updated today alone.  I was then invited to make a new set of selections.  I went for it and, probably went whole hog, but have selected the following.

I’m going to start with:

  • Andy Capp
  • B.C.
  • Dick Tracy
  • Dog Eat Doug
  • Dogs of C-Kennel
  • Garfield
  • Herman
  • Peanuts
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not
  • Tarzan

This is up a few from my previous selections of "Herman", "Dick Tracy" and "Ripley’s Believe It or Not" all of which I find incredibly addicting.  A quick view every morning just gets my mind in the right place.

Educationally, I find the writing and different styles very interesting. In fact, it was "Ripley’s Believe It or Not" that gave me the inspiration to make this blog entry about how to use Comic Life to create my own Ripley-like cartoon.  As I write this blog entry, I can’t help but think that this would be an interesting class activity for students to create their own "Believe It or Not" cartoon about summer vacations.  Perhaps they take a look at their summer plans and do a little research into their destinations.

There are all kinds of applications for Comics in the Classroom and gocomics.com can provide some inspiration, some motivation, and even a little smile for lesson preparation. 

Powered by Qumana

Leave a Reply

