The Best of Both Worlds

Sometimes, I feel like the technological world has passed me by.  I had that feeling this weekend when I stumbled onto something that I’m sure that everyone else but me knows.

Two things form the basis for this post.

  • I really like the Omnibar in the Google Chrome browser.  It lets me type URLs and search in the same box;
  • I’ve been a real advocate for changing the default search engine to Diigo instead of Google or Bing or Yahoo! or whatever so that results come from curated results instead of the crapshoot that blindly searching can provide.

So, I was playing around with Firefox 5 Beta Channel (although I read that there’s a Firefox 6 Alpha out…) and forgot that I was in Firefox for a second.  I thought I was in Chrome and typed in a search term.  Guess what?  I got Google search results.  I sort of stared at the screen for a second and shook my head.  I tried it again.  Son of a gun, it worked again.

I then thought – this is very cool.  Even when I switch my default search engine to Diigo, there are times when I really need to use Google to do a search.  Similarly, if I switch the default to Google, I’m back to wading through results until I get what I want.  Firefox, as you know, has a search window – why don’t I use that for Diigo searches and the Awesome Bar for searching my history and searching using Google?

 

The Awesome Bar gives me this…

And, Diigo gives me this …

Wow!  It just depends on whether I type the term into the Awesome Bar or the Search Window to choose the search engine that I want.So, I thought – what a great addition to Firefox 5.  Now, one of the nice things about Firefox 5 is that it can exist alongside Firefox 4.  So, I tried the above on Firefox 4, and sure enough, it worked there as well.  Now, I’m feeling like a dummy.  This functionality has been there all along!  How can this be?  Do I ever feel silly.  Last to the party again.
But, now that I’ve learned that, I’m thinking of the opportunities to being a more efficient searcher.
2 thoughts on “The Best of Both Worlds

  1. I noticed that my Omnibar (or Google) search results give me the following at the top of my search results in Chrome:

    “n items found in your Diigo account”

    Perhaps I’m getting this because I have the Diigo extension installed, I’m not sure, but it’s just one more click to access my Diigo marks from a search.

    Aren’t you seeing the same thing in Chrome?

    Like

  2. It’s a beta feature for Chrome that used to work but now doesn’t. It could be that one of the privacy extensions conflict with it or something. The difference though is that with Diigo as a search engine, it searches everyone’s Diigo account and not just yours. Diigo is but one example – you could replace it with Yahoo!, Bing, or any other configured search engine.

    I was just surprised that I could easily have access to two search engines.

    Like

Leave a Reply

