Try Some New Reading

Yesterday, I read a “new-to-me” blog.  I had no idea that the “How We Learn:  Research, News & Perspectives” Blog existed!  But, I played my own little game of Roulette to find it.

The popplet below shows the path I took.

http://popplet.com/app/Popplet_Alpha.swf?page_id=32880&em=1

Virtually every blog on the internet has a Blog Roll.  It’s a way for blog authors to share what they’re reading with others.  If you look to the right on my blog, you’ll see the blogs that I read quite regularly and recommend to others.

So … what I did was pick a blog from my Blog Roll.  In this case, it was Peter Skillen’s Construction Zone, and I went to that blog.  Sure enough, he has his own blog roll so I chose one from there.  I repeated the process five times, each time going to a blog that I’d never heard of before.

I’m sure that you’ve all seen those “Best of” lists that are so popular on the internet.  I find them disappointing as the top recommended blogs are so predictable and often rest on their laurels not having an entry for weeks or months.

That’s how I ended up at the “How We Learn” Blog.  I’m impressed with the content and have added the RSS to my reader.  I hope that this little exercise provides me a regular source of inspiration.

Why don’t you give it a try and see where you end up?

Leave a Reply

