Easiest Way Ever to Share Images

Period!

I was browsing the Chrome Store and noticed a link to the “Dropmocks” application.  The descriptor says that it lets you “share beautiful image galleries online”.  I figured that I would take it for a ride.

It’s also available directly as a link to the website http://www.dropmocks.com if you don’t use Chrome or don’t want to install the web application.  Upon visit, there was no big call to register or anything.  Just a little window with a simple instruction.

I’m always curious about claim of “easiest” so decided to put it to the test.  I had a folder on my desktop hanging around from a FollowFriday with some of the Klout images that I had used in a previous blog post so just positioned it strategically where I could see my browser and dragged an image across.  And it took.

I dragged another and another and another and before I knew it they were all on the Dropmock window.  Had I been paying more attention, I would have seen that there was a window that had popped up with all of the filenames listed.  That was that.  Dropmock gave me a URL to the page that I’d just created.  In this case, you can see what I did at the URL http://www.dropmocks.com/mOUIi.  Dropmocks uses your Google account log so that you could go back and edit it later.

I’ve shared a lot of photo galleries with resources like Flickr or Facebook in the past, but I couldn’t get over the ease and speed of this.  A tip of the hat to the use of the word “easiest”.  If there’s something easier, I’d sure like to see it.

Immediately, I’m thinking of a great use for it.  How many of you took pictures of the holiday season?  Rather than mess around with a setup at the other image sharing sites, just create a Dropmock, throw them up there, and share the URL.  That’s all that’s needed.  For convenience, a Twitter button has been provided to share there.  In education, how many times do you do a field trip or assembly and have to wait until an image gallery has been created by your webmaster?  You can literally share the photos in seconds with this utility.  You should just keep in mind that, with simplicity, there is a compromise.  Everything that you create is immediately available to anyone who knows the link.  It’s built for ease and speed, not privacy.

I would encourage you to try it right now.  Go the website and throw some photos at it.  You’re done.

Powered by Qumana

One Reply to “Easiest Way Ever to Share Images”

Leave a Reply

