Back to Delicious

Recently, I shared my frustrations with my Delicious account going off the rails.  In an entry entitled “Moving On“, I talked about how the Delicious resource had even become unresponsive and so I had switched to Diigo’s service for posting daily links that I’ve found to this blog.  It’s my way of giving back to a community that I learn so much from.  Help yourself to my bookmarks; it’s the least I can do.

Diigo provided a good and reliable service and I was pleased for the most part with what it was doing.  Unfortunately, it has a small issue that I couldn’t resolve.  In its attempts of functionality, it seemed to add a number of returns presumably from the designers’ eyes for readability.  See the example below.

It’s not a biggy but when you’re sharing 10 or so links a day, it makes the blog post run on and on and on.

Now, I don’t want to bring up that old issue about evaluating blogs but I’ll share my personal thoughts.  For the most part, I like to read (and write) blogs that are short and sweet, make their point and move on.  I’m not really a fan of the essay type of post that goes on rather than making its point and stopping.

I guess that means that I have the same approach to a simple post that shares resources.  Here’s what Delicious does.

I just find it to be more succinct and easier to read.

So, being a good netizen, I swung by Delicious and was going to delete the entry that asked it to post for me and found that the link was back working.  So, what the hey…  I’m back.  I went over to Diigo and asked it to stop posting for me.

I continue to use both of these excellent services.  I’m just liking the format of one over the other at this point.  Fickle, eh?Tags: , ,

Powered by Qumana

3 Replies to “Back to Delicious”

  1. Well, what a coincidence! I just taught my students the merits of Diigo. While I agree with you on the design issue, I love the ability in Diigo to highlight text, add jot notes on the go via stickies, and create a topic/chat discussion for shared reading. As with any tool, it always comes down to what you need it for 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

