Less Love for the iPod

My explorations with iOS4.2 continue yesterday. On the iPad, it’s really awesome and makes such a difference. The biggest thing that I’m so appreciative of is the ability to put things into folders. Now, instead of scrolling through pages and pages of apps, they’re nicely organized by categories. I just have to remember where I put them! Even with the frustration of the multiple pages, I did have a sense of where a particular application might be.

The multitasking (which is more like task switching) is OK but will take some computing style changes before it because a natural habit.

The same love doesn’t apply to my iPod though.

I did the same upgrade there and expected to find some new device using experience. It’s not there. My iPod is my portable connection but didn’t seem to reap the same overall improvements.

I had noticed a couple of things yesterday. First of all, for the first time, it would randomly drop the wireless connection. The first time, I was prepared to call it a fluke but it happened again in an area where none of the other connected devices had a problem.

Secondly, battery life seems to have gone right down hill. I could go for days with my use of the device. Not so now. I had to charge it twice yesterday. Now, I’m also ready to admit that I was probably using it more than I would normally but that’s still an unexpected turn of events.

Then, late yesterday, I received a message from a friend wanting to know if the multitasking worked on the iPod. It’s not something that I do regularly but I just gave it a shot and sure enough, the answer is no.

Now, I’m willing to admit that it’s something that I’ve done wrong – I’m always the first person that I blame when something goes wrong. But, I turned to the legions on the internet that will be working with the product as well. Somehow, it’s comforting to know that I’m not the only person who is experiencing these things. I’m sure that Apple is listening and monitoring as well. Hopefully, there will be an update pushed out to resolve these issues. If not, I really can see myself rolling back the operating system to a more functional level for me.

As always, if you’ve got a solution for me that works, I’d really like to hear it!

4 thoughts on “Less Love for the iPod

  1. Hey, Doug!

    After my download of iOS timed out sometime into the five hour marathon Monday evening, I was prepared to wait until Tuesday evening to do the download. As it turned out, an ethernet connection to my Turbo Hub seemed to make a difference, and I managed the download in forty minutes, followed by another forty-five minutes for the backup-update-restore. And then it was time to head to work.

    So it wasn’t until last night that I was able to try out iOS 4.2.1 on the iPad, and only this morning before I managed to get the 180-odd applications arranged into some semblance of order within folders.

    I’ve had folders on my iPhone for awhile — they are a great feature, and reduce navigation from 11ish screens to three. They make for a most excellent organizing experience, on both the iPhone and now, the iPad.

    The ONE thing, however, that I wish Apple would enable, is folder icons. Granted, the tiny thumbnails give you a small (VERY small) hope of identifying apps by their own icons, but aesthetically — and especially on the iPad — the tiny-icon folder look just doesn’t cut it. We need user-customizable icons to layer on top of out self-organized folders. I’m sure it will come, with time, but until then, the look is not up to the usual Apple standard.

    I’ll be exploring further, but look forward to hearing further reflections from your side.

    Pad on.

    Like

  2. Doug Brode says:

    Which iPod are you referring to? I’m thinking of buying my wife the iPod Touch 4G for Christmas – or maybe the new iPhone 4G. (She already has a cell phone that she likes though.)

    Great info, by the way! I read a lot of your stuff, it’s always interesting.

    Thanks
    Doug

    Like

  3. Thanks, Doug. The iPod is a couple of years old so not one of the newer models. You might want to follow the internet discussions before you leap. I suspect that you may be ok with the newer versions of the product but certainly test them before buying.

    Like

  4. Interesting how we’re willing to share our experiences, Andy. I do like your idea of the folder icons but chances are that won’t happen. Glad to hear that you turned five hours into 40 minutes. So, time on task to get it would now be: 5:40:00? Funny how we never count in the hours to configure it after the download to get the full drag on productivity!

    Like

Leave a Reply

