Moving On

If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you’ll know that I try my best to share the weblinks that I find on a daily basis.  It started out as just a personal project so that I wouldn’t lose anything.  It worked out well just recently.  A colleague recalled an article about cell phone use but couldn’t remember it.  Fortunately, I had tucked it away and a quick search allowed me to help her locate it.

A while ago, I had used Delicious to keep track of things but just for my own personal reasons.  I showed a friend how it worked once and she was the one that suggested I work on finding a way to share these “finds” with others.  It made sense – we’re all better when we’re rowing in the same direction.  I dug around Delicious and found an experimental feature that posts your links daily to your blog.  For the most part, it worked really nicely.  Every now and again, however, it seems to go wonky and makes repeated posts.  It’s annoying, to be sure, and I found that I was doing a lot of back fill maintenance to stop the blog from looking like a dog’s breakfast.

The latest episode happened last week.  So, I decided to go through and try to do some maintenance and see if I could figure out what was going wrong.  Alas, I’ve been presented constantly with the following message.

That was my call to action.  After all, I have so much to share!  For a few days, to give Delicious time to orient itself, I was doing the posts manually.  But, there’s no resolution in site.  I decided to pursue another angle.

My posting process actually has the links being posted to Diigo first and then cross posted to my Delicious account.  I’ve kept both accounts going for a number of reasons including, and correctly as it turns out, for redundancy.  It turns out that Diigo has the same sort of functionality for posting.

Then, it was sit and wait with fingers crossed.  It turns out that it works nicely.  It’s posting to this blog as it should and posts sent to Diigo are stored there as well as being forwarded to Delicious.  I have the timer set to do it in the evening so that I can monitor it rather than its traditional, hopefully non-intrusive, 1:00am timeslot.

Does this mean that Delicious is done?  Absolutely not.  It’s a great service and I’ve got a nice network of followers over there.  It’s also great to have a redundancy backup for this process as well.  It’s just a shame that things aren’t working the way that they should.

The problem with robotic posts is that when robots go wild, strange things happen.  I just felt like I had to so something as it had gotten out of control but I was “spamming” people inadvertently.  And, everyone hates a spammer!

2 thoughts on “Moving On

  1. I was posting my links weekly from Diigo to my Blogger blog, but gave that up because of spacing issues with the bulleted lists. Hopefully that isn’t an issue with WordPress or they have that fixed!

    Like

  2. You are correct, Peter. There is an extra return in the posting from Diigo that wasn’t there in Delicious. The formatting doesn’t appear to be configurable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

