An Upgrade Worth Grabbing

To complement Windows 7, Microsoft has a free package that you may have downloaded.  It’s called Windows Live Essentials and you probably went for it because of the Movie Maker or Photo Gallery applications.  However, there is, in my opinion, a best of breed product in there entitled Windows Live Writer 2011.  If you’re a blogger on the Windows platform, you should give it a look.  With this entry, Microsoft does add considerable value.

I’ve used a lot of blog editors as I add my contributions to this blog and the previous version quickly became my tool of choice when using my Windows computer.

image

It was quick; it was snappy; and it had all of the functionality for blogging that I required.  One of the best features is that the interface doesn’t get in the road of the blogging experience.  If I’m going to include a picture, for example, the default is to include it in the document and upload it with the post when I get a chance.  Such a little thing but so valuable as I’m not always connected when I’m blogging.

I was actually in the middle of a blog post recently when I was interrupted with a notice that Windows Live Writer 2011 was now available.  Do I want to download it?  Sure!

The product has a new look to it, taking on the persona of the current Microsoft Office suite of applications with the ribbon presenting all of the editing function in your face.  While I struggled with the Office Applications in the beginning, the blogging tool really is nice.  Perhaps it’s just the fact that blogging has limited options compared to everything that you might run into with Microsoft Word.  But, for now, I can upload pictures, videos, hyperlinks, and all of the things that I need to do.

For me, it’s a real keeper.  Check it out.

One Reply to “An Upgrade Worth Grabbing”

Leave a Reply

