QR in a Lesson

So, in continuing to play around with QR codes, I’m wondering what it might look like in a lesson.  The value of the code is that a quick scan with your camera and the appropriate software takes you directly to the information on the other end.  Certainly, a clickable link is more conventional.

Part of the challenge of the conventional link with the smaller devices is clicking on the desired link.  That can be a challenge when you have a cluster of links together.  How often do you click the wrong link?  The other thing that you run across regularly are pages where people think that they have created a link but have left off the http:// part and your browser thinks that the link is a relative link instead of an absolute one.

Anyway, just trying this out and doing a QR spin on my previous post of “My Childhood Community”,

I present “Schools in my Life”.

I attended Kindergarten to Grade 8 here.

Grades 9-13

Math and Computer Science

Business

Education

AQ (it took three summers…)

I applied all of these qualifications here.

And now, I teach here.

It certainly makes direct navigation possible.  How about other devices?  Suggestions are here.

I think this has possibilities in a classroom with devices with cameras.  I’m still thinking about it.

Powered by Qumana

11 thoughts on “QR in a Lesson

  1. Very nice. I visited your website. My camera could not read the QR code in the blog entry but when I took at look at the picture fullsize, I was able to scan it and visit the video “It’s a Book” on your blog.

    Like

  2. So it looks like a chocolate fish is coming your way. I was wondering how small a QR code could be before it got too small and /or blurry to read. My next step is to get some earrings with our QR code on them. A bit geeky but very cool all the same.

    Like

  3. My thoughts exactly, Stephen. I see the advantages to a portable device with a camera or if you have an external webcam, conceivably you could take a picture of the screen and then use it. I’m leaning towards a site having be “bilingual” to be inclusive. Perhaps the answer is to make the QR Code clickable so that you can scan it or click it depending upon what device you’re using.

    Like

  4. The way that I am thinking of having a go using QR codes with my class of nine year olds is like on a nature trail around our school playground. The QR codes are placed in a trail- with each code leading to a picture of the next site/playground feature. Kids will be outside in the sunshine, running around, learning, connecting, having fun. Can’t be all bad!

    Like

  5. > with each code leading to a picture of the next site/playground feature.

    What’s to stop people from putting phishing QR codes? How could you spot them? I must say, a few QR codes pointing to goatse will put people off them in a hurry.

    Like

  6. Hmmm. Always a concern. But, how is that any different from any link attached to an image or a bit.ly shortened link? Mouse over should give an indication of what’s next.

    Like

Leave a Reply

