Response to Spam

I’ve been doing my best to respond to people who leave comments on the blog.  Often comments about posts come through Twitter via a reply or a retweet.  For those comments, I’m so grateful. 

But there is another form of comment that I get.  Using WordPress, it uses Akismet to stop unwanted comments from appearing on the blog.  For the longest time, I just ignored it until a couple of friends posted legitimate replies that got caught.  So, I do check periodically to make sure that nothing gets identified incorrectly.  The rest just gets purged.

But, for this lazy Sunday morning, I thought that I might respond to some of them.  I’m not quite sure that I’d like to use the email address that they submitted so I’ll just do it here in plain sight.  The chain will stop here; I’m not going to share their goofy websites and email addresses – things like “buyathanksgivingturkeyintimeforchristmas.com” by “gobblegobble@gmail.com”.

image

Aw, that’s kind of you…  I think you must have me confused with someone else who posted about “Freaky Halloween Ideas…”

image

Hey, didn’t you just reply?

image

Buy some punctuation, will you?

image

How can I lose with an offer like this?  Just send me a blank cheque and we’ll talk.

image

I wish I knew what “lust luster’ meant.

image

I think your keyboard is sticking

image

Me too.

image

That’s longer than my original post.  I don’t think I’ve ever posted about the Kalahari Desert though.

image

Thanks for coming back to the blog.  I always appreciate your Trackbacks.

 image

That’s just the kind of guy I am.  I never have an opinion about anything.  Thanks for noticing.

image

You need to talk to the guy above.  You can’t have it both ways.  BTW, I don’t think you should say bad things about Google.  They’re everywhere you know.

image

I love compliments.  My English teachers who used to give me 50s in English would be so proud.

image

Another person who wants to be on the left side of the chart.

image

auf Wiedersehen

image

Who’s yer daddy?

image

Thanks for the comment. You should know that the nonsense from this blog is written by one person.  Check the “About Doug…” link.

image

I’ll bet your blog is full of Trackbacks to me.  Thanks for returning.

image

Dude, I have no idea what any of that means.

image

And the trackbacks just keep on coming.

image

Now, we’ve hit a new low.  I think this will be the last word.

image

5 Replies to “Response to Spam”

  1. Good evening. Have this site trackback will grow several times in the estimation of numerous followers money = @dougpete server of recently passing family acquaintance acquired large sums in foreign accounts awaiting your instructions besides which spam to protect spam (Good morning, Doug! As a previous commenter, I should get through the filter. Great read so early in the day! Thanks!) spam spam spam eggs bacon sausage and spam —> enjoy it again, Monty Python: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=anwy2MPT5RE

    Like

  2. I can be no where as creative as Andrew above (especially having not had my morning cup of coffee yet), so all I’ll say is thanks for the morning chuckle! I loved your post!

    Aviva

    P.S. Andrew, I loved your reply too!

    Like

  3. How do you carry on a one-man dialogue at such an early hour of the day? I swear, you must have these crazy dialogues running through your brain whilst you sleep.

    Very entertaining, nonetheless. I concur with Mr. Forgrave – very Pythonesque!

    Like

Leave a Reply

