Black and White

Ontario Blogger, Twitterer, Technological Studies teacher, Photographer, and generally good guy Peter Beens was doing a little crowd sourcing yesterday.  Peter is a pretty good photographer and was looking for some advice for which of his recent works he should enter into the Worldwide Photowalk competition.

To support his request, he had created a blog entry where he identified the top five that he was considering.  I checked it out and noticed that they were all terrific efforts and I could understand the challenge that he was having in picking just one.  Meanwhile, back in Twitter, people were submitting their advice and I chimed in as well.  In my mind, from the group of five, number 2 made the biggest impression on me.

Thanks to Peter’s Creative Commons licensing, here it appears.

4841723528_7cd77cf66d[1]

Thanks pbeens -  Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic

A few of us had some comments guessing where Peter might have taken this picture and I did ask him what he did to enhance it.  His response:

image

I hope that he does submit this one.  From a good offering, this one really leapt out at me.

Photography can be such a creative playground for those who know what they’re doing.  In my eye, the ones that really jump out and grab me are well crafted black and white photos.  Simultaneously, you see less detail with the lack of colours and you see more detail in the contrast that black and white affords.

Check out this link which takes you to a collection of Eerie Seascapes.  Again, black and white lends itself to some incredible imagery.  It’s like being there witnessing the imagery all before a morning coffee.

Of course, it takes more than just black and white.  I have that setting on my camera and I take a lot of pictures myself.  My efforts are so amateurish by comparison.  There’s also the element of being in the right place at the right time, but even that doesn’t guarantee the great picture.  There’s the artist eye that understands the lighting, the angles, and the digital storytelling potential of the image that set people like Peter way ahead of hacks like me.

I hope that you take a moment to click through to Peter’s blog or his Flickr account and enjoy his pictures.  He’s got a great collection.

3 Replies to “Black and White”

  1. Thank you so much, Doug!

    It was indeed a difficult decision, but as you hoped, I submitted the image you profiled. From the many votes and comments I received, it was a close race between all pictures except #5. The clincher was the number of views that each photo received on flickr, with #2 (the B&W photo) getting almost 90% more than the others.

    For those of you not familiar with the Worldwide Photowalk, it’s the brainchild of Scott Kelby (http://twitter.com/scottkelby), and is now in its third year. It’s a great opportunity to get out and meet total strangers with a similar love of photography. It involves the photowalk itself, then socializing in a restaurant afterwards where everyone can get to know each other a little better. Each individual walk (there are over 1100 of them worldwide!) also has a flickr group set up where the photographers can share more than just the one photo they submit for the competition. More details about the photowalk can be found here: http://worldwidephotowalk.com/

    Thanks again for the wonderful comments, Doug. I’m incredibly honoured.

    Like

Leave a Reply

