What’s Your Persona?

There’s a cute little online application from the MIT Media labs that purports to check out your online Persona and give you a graphic representation of your online presence. 

For me, check out: 

image

Clicking the image above to pop up an image full size. 

Such an approach allows you to take a look at your digital footprint in another fashion.  Whether it’s true or not or accurate is another question.

I originally used my full name but that doesn’t make me a unique character and was really an amalgam of all of the Doug Peterson’s on the web.

But, using my handle “dougpete” narrows down to me.  I’ve tried to use that everywhere for a consistent presence.

Read about the project here.

Then, of course, you’ll have an overwhelming desire to check out yourself which you can do here.

So, what do you think?  Is that you?  Or, more correctly, is that the part of you that you wish to share online?  It’s a nice little reality check.

4 thoughts on “What’s Your Persona?

  1. There are too many other people with a similar name as mine – hard to believe but true – and a couple of them have serious criminal records which really messes things up for me. Plus a couple of political people and artists so using my actual name gives useless results. Apparently there is not enough information on “alfredtwo” which I use a lot to show up either. Oh well it is still interesting to watch what comes up.

    Like

  2. Pete

    I also ran one – same issue “Tony Fish” includes everyone with the name Tony Fish, every Italian call tony who runs a fish and chip place, All men called Tony who post their pictures on flickr of a prize catch and some other rather odd interruptions. I have run it several times to see if there was a change – slight, but give so much data it is too hard to pick out.

    i posted mine at http://blog.mydigitalfootprint.com

    best

    Like

Leave a Reply

