The Coolest New Feature


I did watch a live blog on and off of the WWDC yesterday which really focused heavily on the iPhone while I was watching but the time came that other commitments kicked in and off I went to take care of them.

At home, I was remembering that there was speculation of a new update to Safari to be announced so I thought I’d check it out.  Now, I’m a big Chrome user so I dusted off Safari and went to the Apple website and there was nothing new.

I wonder what happened?  I did a quick search and found a couple of interesting stories.  One indicated that Safari 5 was posted and then removed.  Another indicated that someone was pleasantly surprised by Safari 5 appearing via system update.  So, I ran a system update manually.  Nothing.  Oh well.  Then, for whatever reason, I visited the Safari download site using Google Chrome and there Safari 5 was!

That was odd.  I went back and visited the Safari site with Safari and it was still showing version 4.  Is this a message that people who were using Chrome needed to update?  I downloaded while the downloading was good!  As I was downloading, I ran another System Update and, sure enough, it was no available there.  I cancelled the download and let the System Update do its thing and shortly I was running it.

On first run, it didn’t look any different than Safari 4.  Did I really have the new version?

Yes I do.

OK, maybe I need to look a little harder.  It did seem to load quicker.  Then, for whatever reason, I had the urge to check out the local newspaper and see the current stories surrounding the tornado damage in Leamington.  Ooh.  There’s something new in my address bar.

There’s a “Reader” where my “RSS” would normally be!  I know what happens when I click on the RSS button, but Reader?

Wow!  Now, the local newspaper is like to many others.  Lots of advertising to pay the bills.  In this case, the Reader utility discards the advertising, gets rid of the pictures, and gets you just the core of what you’d be looking for – the story itself.

That is one spectacular feature if you do a lot of reading of stories and don’t want to be distracted by the animations and flashing and blinking of background noise competing for your attention.  For the moment, I’m losing interesting in the HTML5 support and the quicker Javascript purported to be in the new software and the inclusion of Bing as a search engine.  This is one really cool reading feature and I like it.

Powered by Qumana

links for 2010-06-07