Why #FollowFriday is so important

If you’re a Twitter user, you’ve got to be aware of #FollowFriday.  It’s the one day a week that you get a chance, along with the rest of the Twitterverse, to shout “Hey, this person is worth following”.  The typical reason why you’d want to do this is that they provide good, interesting content to you and when you take it to the next step, to others.  Another reason is to provide a shout to people of a similar interest or cause.

Today’s a Friday and I did my shouts.  I knew that I was going to create this blog entry so I did an extra one this week.

image

If you’re looking for a good challenge, these folks are excellent players and I swear @DoremiGirl knows every word ever invented and knows how to leverage them to pummel me into humiliation daily.  What’s great about them is that they’re regular players.  You can get half a dozen moves a day in playing with them unlike some of the one move a day types.  So, follow them – in addition to their wording ability, they are very interesting people that share great stuff.

Twitter is the gold mine for educational conversation.  If your life-long learning goal is to learn one thing a day, then follow an educator.  What to learn a lot?  Follow a lot of educators.  Want to know what’s going on in Ontario, follow an Ontario educator.

image

The problem at times is that some users are like some bloggers.  They have an account but don’t do anything with it.  However, there are those that do and I think that a shoutout for their efforts is worth it.  Each Friday, I like to acknowledge those educators in Ontario that have been active recently.  How do you get to be active?  I have a list of Ontario Educators that appears in my Seesmic Desktop client and I just run down the list.  If you want a shoutout, tweet something on a Thursday!  If you’re an Ontario educator and not on the list (which can be found here), just let me know.  I’d really like to follow you and add you to the list.  It’s my personal technique for recommending the best of the best in the province.

Above and beyond my own personal reasons, #FollowFriday really exemplifies the power that is in networking.  In no place like education do we feel a sense of isolation at times and need confirmation that we’re part of the bigger picture.  There is no better way of seeing that picture than to have friends to go along with you.  The best way to find them is on the recommendation of others.

7 thoughts on “Why #FollowFriday is so important

  1. Thanks for including me on your FollowFriday list and continuing to encourage me to use Twitter to its full potential. It really is the best PD around! You’re an awesome person to follow and to learn from, and I’m glad that I met you and all of the other wonderful members of my PLN through Twitter.

    This is certainly a great blog post and definitely one worth sharing! Thank you for helping me see the value in a #FollowFriday!

    Like

  2. I’d like to RT @grade1 on the response page to your post – I have no idea how to do that.

    Thanks for including me on your FollowFriday post, Doug!! I wish the folks with whom I have to deal could understand the value of this PLN.

    Lead on, @dougpete!

    Like

  3. Doug, I would give you a shout out whether we play WwF games or not! YOU are a great educator to follow! Thank you, for your thoughts and insights. I really enjoy learning from you!

    Now, we haven’t had a game in a week or so….

    Like

Leave a Reply

