Google’s New Look


Last night, I played around Google doing so really deep searches for a project that I’m working on.  Periodically, when I do this sort of thing, I flip to google.com to do my search.  For those of you in Canada, you know that the search is localised and we end up searching google.ca.

It’s funny how you get used to something.  The results seemed different somehow and so I backed off to the simple entry point and indeed noticed the difference.

google.ca

image

google.com

image 

The difference is quite noticeable when you see them side by side.  (or at least one under neath the other)  The drop shadow is noticeably reduced.  The term no longer carries a trademark symbol and the links are really modernized with the removal of the underline for the links.

So, what happens when you do a search?  I do what everyone does when they search…I look for myself!

dougpete on google.ca

image

dougpete on google.com

image

Note that on the new layout, the presence of a sidebar.  Previously, you had to request the additional options to get these resources. 

I find the placement of “updates” so interesting.  Instead of being down the list of options, it’s number one.  So, if you’re looking for latest Twitter or Blog or Friendfeed or whatever, they’re right there in your face.

It’s got a nice feel and a sense of cleanness and helpfulness to you and your search.  Hopefully, it will come to Google Canada in the near future.  For the time being, we can compare the old with the new.

links for 2010-05-05