What a Great Idea

As part of the Computer Science Teachers Association conference, we all piled into buses and headed to the Universal Technical Institute for a tour and reception.  What a facility – we were amazed at the facility and, importantly, the claims of graduation rates for its students.

The comment was made a number of times that so much repairs to today’s cars are computer related and that’s why it was so important that our group of educators knew of this as another pathway for students.

Forget computer labs – how about a car lab?

Dress code and deportment is important at UTI and part of their student assessment.  Dress required proper hair cuts, wearing a UTI shirt or T-Shirt, heavy pants, work shoes, etc.  From a safety perspective, the descriptors absolutely made sense.  We were encouraged to take pictures and Peter Beens has been creating a gallery of the entire conference here.

I didn’t take a lot of pictures but there was one recurring thing that caught my eye as just genius.  I snapped a quick picture.

Full length mirrors were placed throughout the building under the question “Would you hire this person?”

The first time I saw one, I thought “neat”.

But, as I kept running into them at location after location, it really made sense.  It sends a constant message about how you carry and present yourself.  In order to achieve the highest graduation rates, you need graduates that present themselves ready to take on the world.  There were no instructions or suggestions.  It was just a constant reminder.  As a passerby, you take it or leave it.  Your call.

So, I wondered — why don’t we do that in all our schools as a constant reminder?

3 thoughts on “What a Great Idea

  1. Interesting idea, but one that I can’t buy into in our current culture of obsession with how we look (and part of me wonders if this may be a gender issue). Given the number of my students who deal with huge self-image issues, and those who are coping with eating disorders, I don’t see how this would be a positive development. I applaud the idea behind it, and certainly support the promotion of professional dress and appearance, but the full-length mirrors all over the place? I’m a pretty confident individual, and I would find that intimidating.

    Like

  2. I suspect male and female students might respond differently. But I’m not sure. There is a mirror in the hall next to my computer lab and I wonder what the response would be if I hung such a sign over it?

    Like

  3. Pingback: OTR Links 07/17/2014 | doug — off the record

Leave a Reply

