The Price of Literacy

I was doing some writing yesterday and just wanted to confirm the appropriate use of a particular piece of punctuation.  It was about the use of an Ellipsis … so I used the Guide to Grammar and Writing to get the job done.

The process was pretty easy.  I just opened another tab, went to my bookmark, found what I needed, and then went back to my writing.

My mind wandered, as it often does, and I thought that this would be a great reference application.  I could be a split-second more productive if I could do my writing on the computer and reference things on the iPad and be oh, so much better.

I immediately dropped my work and headed to the App Store and searched for “punctuation”.

There were lots of results.  But the reference materials came at a price.

Interesting.

The good news is that there was a game to teach punctuation that was free, but it does offer in-app purchases.  We’ve become accustomed to that.  I still was quite surprised that there was no free product available.

How about Android?

Whew!

Does this make Android users more literate than Apple users?  Or, do Android users just need more help?

It was just an interesting observation.  Thankfully, we have our priorities right.  Games are free; educational reference not.  Such is the price of literacy.  

So, folks, pay attention to your English teachers.  Otherwise, it will cost you…

 

One thought on “The Price of Literacy”

Leave a Reply

