Unsolicited DMs

There are many stories circulating this morning like this one.

Twitter allows anyone to send you a DM

According to reports, this will be an opt-in feature.  You need to go to your settings and enable this in order to let it happen.

I think that this is something that everyone needs to consider carefully.

  • Think of the unsolicited emails that we get regularly
  • Think of the unsolicited phone calls that you get during supper hours when phone solicitors know that you’re home

I attach no value to these.  I don’t open the emails and the phone calls get a “click” before they’re too far along in their pitch.  I just can’t imagine a scenario where I want to open my private messages on Twitter to anyone who wishes to send me a message that way.  I already get plenty of messages with link bait from people who have had their accounts hacked.  Do I really want to add to that?  I don’t think so.

I’m also concerned about mobile where often it’s more difficult to judge the source of the message.  (especially in bright daylight)

Fortunately, the reports are that this will be an option that you explicitly have to enable.

At this point, I don’t see me doing that.

Your thoughts?

 

3 thoughts on “Unsolicited DMs”

  1. I’m with you on this. I get occasional DM messages with links to sites that I’m pretty sure are not safe as it is. I can only imagine how many I would get if they were more open. Plus I agree that people would spam me like crazy. I see a lot more potential for abuse. I do get spam public twitter messages already BTW. But I’d like to keep some limits on the DM side.

    Like

  2. I agree with you on this. I will definitely not be enabling this feature. Have enough unsolicited calls, emails and twitter spam in my life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

