Another Business Case

I first got serious about Ubuntu at an ISTE Conference in San Diego.  There was an open area for displays and there was an older gentleman there who was all alone and I just was drawn to see what he was offering.  I do remember the quick Ubuntu demonstration and was very interested in what I was seeing.  I walked away with a bootable CD-ROM so that I could try it at home.  The big takeaway was that I could boot from the CD-ROM and try Ubuntu.  If I liked it, I could dual boot my computer and run both Windows and Ubuntu on the same computer.  It was also sold as a way to breathe new life into an old computer.

I got home and gave it a try.  Even running from CD-ROM, it ran quicker than my installation of XP.  So, I did a dual boot installation and every PC that I’ve had since then has been set to dual boot.  The speed always makes it feel like a brand new computer.  Even though I spend most of my time in a browser, even Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox seem to run faster.  I will boot into Windows for various things and to keep the OS up to date so the concept of a computer with two personalities really isn’t novel to me.

But what about a cell phone?

The latest news from the Ubuntu camp is exciting.  Imagine a smart phone that done all the smart phone things that we’ve come to expect.  It makes phone calls, runs applications, connects to the internet, …  But it also dual boots – and becomes your personal computer.  A real one.  The video is worth watching and thinking.

Now to the business case.  If you’re reading this blog, you’ve probably doing it on ONE of the devices that you own.  It might be your computer or it might be your phone.  Do the math and shudder when you think of what you’ve invested.  It gets even more scarey when you think of all the potential in your devices that you’re not using.  Imagine if you could roll all that into one purchase and take it with you wherever you go?

To make it happen, Canonical needs funding and is seeking support from the community.  Forbes does not believe that they will succeed.  They may well be right.  I’m sure that there is a Plan B in the offing.  Personally, I think it’s important that this succeeds.  It could change the notion of computing as we know it.

You’ve just got to believe that Apple, Microsoft, Google, and all the Android developers are sitting up and taking notice.  How long before we see the same concept from other companies?

Leave a Reply

