This Week in Ontario Edublogs

As the school year winds down, it’s a time of reflection for educators.  How did my class do?  Why didn’t this student do better?  This student really caught fire.  I was most effective when I …  I was least effective when I …  I need to grow professionally in this area.  My biggest strengths are …

On the Ontario blogging front, I caught some reflections that people chose to share with the world.

Feeling Intellectually Safe – My Students Reflect on Their Year

Heidi Siwak was moved to post after her students were interviewed for a video from the Literacy and Numeracy Secretariat.  I really liked the way that she described her reactions to their comments and thoughts that they shared while being interviewed.  I can imagine that it would be a nervous time – we all wonder why our students say when they go home and talk to mom and dad.  But to be on tape and potentially sharing it with educators throughout the province?

Heidi

======

Staying Positive

Aviva Dunsiger notes that the end of the year isn’t always an easy time for everyone.  There are lots of things on the horizon that can be a challenge.  I was fortunate to work in an air conditioned school which makes a world of different in hot and humid Essex County.  In our department, we also had a philosophy of working hard right to the end of the school year.  That’s what we were hired for, right?  In her latest post, she talks about some of the things that she’s positive and thankful for.

It’s been a difficult school year in Ontario and the public elementary school teachers still aren’t out of the woods.  It’s good that she can focus on the positives.

Aviva

======

Professional Reading: Summer of 2013

Julie Balen is already planning her own personal professional development.  On her blog, she’s listed 9 titles on her “to read” and “to re-read” list.  As she notes, she has selected a very interesting collection of titles.

As I look them over, I see some that I have read and I’m intrigued by a couple of the titles.

Julie

Look for What is Good and Strong

Paul Cornies’ latest post seems like the perfect summary for the blogs referenced above.  Good and Strong, reflective, interested in professional growth and student achievement.  You can see it all!

Thanks to these Ontario Edubloggers for being so visible with your learning and sharing.  These blogs are great reads – take some time to read and enjoy.  The complete collection of Ontario Edubloggers can be found here.

3 thoughts on “This Week in Ontario Edublogs”

  1. Thanks for including my post here, Doug! I’m glad that you mentioned working hard until the very end. I believe in this too! A couple of weeks ago, my students asked me what we were going to do the last week of school, and I said, “Reading, writing, math, and some social studies and science too.” :) They got the point. While at first, I think they were surprised, now I think they’re happy that there is a routine. Students have actually been quite calm, even though the year is coming to an end. Working until the end really helps with this calmness as well — and I like calmness! :)

    I hope that everyone has a great end to the school year! Thanks again!
    Aviva
    http://www.weinspirefutures.com

    P.S. Thanks for always giving me so many wonderful blog posts to read each week! I look forward to this post of yours because you help me with my weekend reading. :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

