A Source for More Reading and Analysis

This morning, as I was waiting around, I got a notice that Alfred Thompson had written a blog post titled “You Never Know Who The Computer Science People Are“.  What a great title so I clicked through the read the post and it’s about Justine Bateman going to UCLA to study Computer Science.  I had to click through and read her new blog about her studies and some of the colourful language reminded me of my own studies in Computer Science.  Cool!

Back to Alfred’s post.  It was a shorty and I was still waiting and so scrolled down the page on my phone.  I actually paid attention to the content in his sidebar.  This isn’t something that I normally do.  One of the things that caught my eye was a badge from Teach.com.  Apparently, they have a listing of Teach 100 blogs.  I thought – poor Alfred, he’s number 163!

Well, you know what I had to do next!

I’m always in search of a good train wreck.  I wonder if I was on that list as well.  In fact, I was.  I was number 172.  Boy, I wish I was good like Alfred.  How’s that for a 100 list?!  I kind of got a kick of the number anyway – I had won a triactor using 1-7-2 once.

Still waiting, I took a look around to see the criteria for being on that list and how the ranking was done.  There are four elements to the score you get.

  • Social (40%) – Engagement as determined through its combined Facebook shares, Tweets and StumbleUpon visits to the blog and its most recent posts. Ranking weighs shares pointing back to the blogs 10 most recent posts as well as for its main domain.
  • Activity (20%) – The frequency of a blog’s updates. The more frequently a blog is updated, the higher its activity score
  • Authority (20%) – The overall authority and influence relative to the rest of the web as determined by the number of sites linking to the blog. This methodology is one of the foundations of the Google Search Algorithm and is a commonly used measure of a website’s authority.
  • Teach Score (20%) – This is the single subjective factor in the evaluation of the Teach100. The Teach Score considers how media is used throughout a blog, how topics in education are discussed, the timeliness of blog content, the capacity to inform, and the overall presentation of the blog.

The scoring algorithm claims to be dynamic and changes so maybe someday I’ll be 171.  The scores for this blog in the above four categories is:  10, 15, 8, 13.  So much for my dreams of becoming an authority.  You can even get your own badge for placement on your own blog if so desired.

So much for the kloutifying of blogs.

More importantly for me, is the actual collection of blogs.  As I was still waiting, I started poking around and looking at a bunch of blogs.  For me, that was the real goldmine.  I’ve got a whole new set of reading.  For that, I’m very happy.

If you’re an educational blogger, you know you want to visit and see how you’re ranked, right?  Go ahead.

3 thoughts on “A Source for More Reading and Analysis

  1. And the good news is that when we tweet links to each others blog it helps the social number and when we link to each other it helps the authority. My observation is that it takes a lot more to move the authority number than the social number. That (the social number) is what accounts for the most variation in my blog’s ranking. Personally I would count the frequency less and the authority more. There are some very influential blogs that have less frequent but more significant posts. Many of those are also higher on both social and authority because when they write they are referenced frequently.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Lazy – or Now a Feature? | doug --- off the record

Leave a Reply

