Just Like Me

Yesterday, I went out for a coffee with a friend two towns over.  As I got to the designated Tim Horton’s, I received a text message indicating that he was stuck at a train tracks but would be there shortly.  What to do?  What to do?  Well, I had two of life’s necessities – a medium black coffee and free wireless.  Except for the promised companionship, what more could a person want.

I actually had something planned to do but didn’t want to get started only to have to put things on hold when my friend arrived.  I stared at the screen and this icon caught my eye.

Similar

 

It’s the icon to a really helpful Google Extension – Google Similar Pages.  I find it to be a really helpful extension when I’m researching a topic.  When the first page I visit doesn’t give enough information, it’s very handle to resist the urge to do another search and just click on this icon and let it find pages similar to the one I’m currently viewing.  I’ve had a great deal of success with it.

However, with all that I’ve used it, I’ve never let my ego kick in.  I’m still waiting so – why not?  What’s similar to my web presence?

My Blog – http://dougpete.wordpress.com

Answer is…

 

Screen Shot 2013-04-17 at 4.45.54 PM

Isn’t that cool?  I personally know Zoe and Rodd.  I’m honoured to be included with all four of them.

I wonder – what about the rest of my resources.

My Website – http://www.dougpeterson.ca

Screen Shot 2013-04-17 at 7.52.28 PM

 

Interesting.  I’m not the only Doug Peterson apparently.  But it did cycle back to some of the things I’ve created.

My PD Wiki – http://dougpete.pbworks.com

Screen Shot 2013-04-17 at 7.53.08 PM

 

One of the resources cycled back to me.  However, just like above, it’s given me some new resources to check out.

It was fun to do this and, scratching the ego, took me to some new places.

Why don’t you install the extension (there are Firefox alternatives) and see what’s similar to you?  You just might find a new favourite resource.

 

2 thoughts on “Just Like Me”

Leave a Reply

