Great Day of Sharing and Learning

I started today as I normally would.  I grab a bowl of cereal and my iPad.  I open the News folder and then the Zite application.

This is Doug’s current mode for finding out what’s happening.  It’s a big jump from the days when it used to be with a newspaper.  I’m constantly amazed at the breadth and depth and new interests possible now that my reading has gone digital.

It’s more of less like a regular day.  I find a lot of good things that pique my interest.  As per normal, I figure that if they interest me, they might interest someone else.  By sending the link to the article to Twitter via Zite, that sharing happens and packrati.us sends a copy to my Diigo account for a permanent record.  In the middle of all this, I get a Twitter message from @barbaramcveigh.

What a nice comment!

I flip back through what I’d shared to that point ….

15 Tips & Tricks To Get More Out Of Google Drive

via

Tips for Sharing iPads in Schools

via

Test if your router’s UPnP is exposed to the Internet –

via

If It Were My Home: Compare Countries Visually

via

iOS App Recommendations for Literacy

via

A Must Have Poster on Digital Literacy

via

Three Infographics About Valentine’s Day, Including One Perfect For English Language Learners

via

2 Websites To Create Disposable Content On The Web

via

How to connect your iPad to your Interactive Whiteboard

via

The Teacher Report: 5 Excuses Kids Give for Not Reading (and Ways to Respond)

via

Mobile Learning: It’s Not Just About the Kids; It’s Also About the Teachers!

via

Digital Storytelling with the iPad –

via

A Beginner’s Guide To Proofreading – Edudemic –

via

As I look back at these (and there were a few others), I have to agree.  Those were some pretty good resources.  Many others agreed as well.  I look at the interactions on my Twitter account and I see that people are retweeting and bookmarking these resources.  As an aside, I was wondering why my account was in English – and when I check my settings LOLKATZ is missing as a language.  Such is the price of using something marked Beta.

If I dig back just a little further, I see a resource that I had shared even earlier.  It’s a two thumbs up, five star, red ribbon, gotta have blog post from Sue Waters.

Getting More Out Of Student Blogging

But it’s not all about me.  Those are my humble contributions.  I’m reading and checking out resources from other Ontario Educators for which I have a great of respect.

That’s but the tip of the iceberg.  I could crop and paste all day long with the spectacular list of sharing that was happening.

Where else could you even begin to get this type of professional learning?  I think of the traditional view of learning which involved a book and I smile … how long does it take to research and write that book?  After it’s published, how much is dated?  Does that book include articles that are recent?  Yeah? How about within the past 24 hours?  How could I share a passage with that article with members of my department – oh, yes, go to the photocopier and put copies in their mailbox.  Tell me how I can get that richness from London, Ottawa, Thunder Bay, Stratford, Toronto, or London again that immediately.  Given those challenges, I suppose Perth (and not the Stratford or Ottawa one) would be totally out of the question.

And yet, we all are doing it, doing it well, and doing it daily.  We’re vetting, filtering, researching, sharing, and learning daily.

That, folks, is what it’s all about.  The topping?

It’s a little Twitter message from an individual in Luxembourg who I’ve never met but certainly hang on his posts and have had many interactions.

For the moment, take out the @dougpete reference.  It’s only important for the few seconds that Gust took to post the message.

Can you insert your own name there?  If you can, you’re doing it right.

Powered by Qumana

 

2 thoughts on “Great Day of Sharing and Learning

  1. Popping this lovely little item into my “things to show to people about what they can learn with Zite and Twitter” file. Thanks so much. Power to the PLN! ( I think I need a shirt!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

