They “Get It”

I really like this story.

Teen founders launch Hallway, a homework helper for high-school students

In a world where school districts, schools, teachers, administrators and parents continue to debate and wonder about the value of social media, the landscape is scattered with what could be opportunities for learning.  In some places, it’s embraced, in others it’s grudgingly accepted, in others it’s totally blocked.

Where there’s a need, though, there are often thinkers trying to find a solution.

Hallway is an answer to questions that are often asked.

  • I don’t understand;
  • I need help organizing myself;
  • I know we were taught in class, but I still don’t get it;
  • I was sick on a particular day and there’s a gap in my understanding;
  • I’m doing my homework and need some help.

Learning is best accomplished when it’s social and you can work with your peers.  That’s the premise behind Hallway.  This is a startup that has huge potential.  Embraced properly, it could be that extra set of hands, that translator, that personalizer that you’ve always wanted in your classroom.

Will you accept it?

2 thoughts on “They “Get It”

  1. Hi Mr. Peterson, I am Leslie Curd and I am a elementary education major at the University of South Alabama. My Edm 310 class requires for me to follow your blog and leave comments for you and then summarize your blogs in my own blog post.

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading about the students that founded Hallway and how helpful Hallway is. I agree that learning is best accomplished when students are working with peers, as you mentioned. I myself have always benifited from working with my peers especially when I was in high school. I think Hallway is a great way for students to interact socially and at the same time recieve the resources that they need. There is, as you mentioned, that constant debate about the value of social media, and in this case I believe it is extremely benefical. http://curdjoedm310.blogspot.com/

    Like

  2. Pingback: Blogging in RebelMouse | doug – off the record

Leave a Reply

