Popular Pins

I just checked my email and there’s a message there from Pinterest. Included was a section entitled “your most popular pins”. Presumably, Pinterest counts the number of times that people interact with something that I’ve pinned. I wonder if it’s repins or likes or a combination of the two. Anyway, here’s what Pinterest claims is popular with people that visit my Pinterest page.

I thought that a review of these articles might make for an interesting blog post.  What I’ve done is use Pinterest’s embed code to embed the original story in the post – you can click the link to read the story if you’re interested.  For each, I’ve tried to reconstruct my thoughts about why I originally pinned it.


Source: ipadacademy.com via Doug on Pinterest

My Thoughts:  Connect your ipad to a projector.  It made sense to me.  My first experience was during a presentation I made at Waterloo’s CATCCamp.  I experimented with a live iPad display and it worked nicely.  Using an Apple TV is just the next step.


Source: educatorstechnology.com via Doug on Pinterest

My Thoughts: It’s amazing the number of times that I could use a video “just to do this” and how hard it is to find something appropriate when headed out to the great unwashed internet. By keeping track of stories like this, I can sometimes cut a bunch of time from the searching process. Sometimes, anyway.


Source: edtechmagazine.com via Doug on Pinterest

My Thoughts:  I’m a sucker for blog posts like this. Maybe it’s the thought that just someday I’ll make one of these lists. Or, perhaps more likely Alfred Thompson will. (He’s got a great CS blog) On one hand, it’s a resource to pass along to would-be bloggers about what can be done. On the other hand, some of the blogs that appear in the story haven’t had an entry for months. I hope that’s not a style that would-be bloggers adopt. The danger with any top ## list is not recognizing the other universe-## blogs.


Source: educatorstechnology.com via Doug on Pinterest

My Thoughts:  Basically, my thoughts about this one were listed above. In this case, the videos are kid-oriented which is always good.


Source: joebower.org via Doug on Pinterest

My Thoughts:  It’s an obvious American reference but the whole concept is equally applicable anywhere high stakes testing happens.


Source: gettingsmart.com via Doug on Pinterest

My Thoughts:  This really appeals to me. There’s nothing like having to create something to force you to learn it more deeply. Sadly, the joy of mathematics is lost (yes, I said joy) because there is so much to “be covered” that rote memorization often passes as learning and understanding mathematics. This really turns the tables – have the students create a book to show their understanding. I really like the concept. And, we have the tools so readily available.


Source: play.google.com via Doug on Pinterest

My Thoughts:  In a world where there are so many applications for photo editing on the iOS line, what really intrigues me is something for the Android platform. My initial read of the application told me that this would be a winner for the Android types.


Source: educationaltechnologyguy.blogspot.be via Doug on Pinterest

My Thoughts:  I am a HUGE fan of Evernote. It’s my portable and not so portable editor of choice when I know that I want a document available on another device later on. I can’t get enough of people who write and share their take on the product. Usually, I find yet another great idea or inspiration for an idea for my own personal productivity.


Source: edudemic.com via Doug on Pinterest

My Thoughts:  This article was the inspiration for a blog post of my own. To take a feature designed for assistance and turn it into control over the assessment process is just somehow wrong. As I indicated in my post, an open iPad assessment should be like an open Book assessment. It should allow for a more robust assessment. If a question can be answered by looking it up on the Internet, it’s not a very good question.


Source: edudemic.com via Doug on Pinterest

My Thoughts:  I’ll probably catch flack for my comments on this one. There are a number of chats that use a regular hashtag. In the beginning, it sounded like a good idea but I quickly grew frustrated with it. Often, it becomes a platform for certain people to pontificate. For the rest, it gets frustrating waiting for a conversation reply and then find out that they had left. I prefer Adobe Connect or the like where the interaction is more immediate, the media more interactive, and you can tell when someone left and went to bed. But…hashtags are very valuable for conversations around a common topic. i.e. you’re at a conference with lots of other people and interpretations of a presentation or a session that I overlooked are shared. Tagging is a real art and a 21st Century skill – the ability to easily find things that you need. Hashtags are the Twitter implementation.


And, that’s it!  There was one infographic that I didn’t include because it would have eaten up this post.  It was about the Importance of Video Games in Education.  Click the link if you’re interested.

Each morning, with Zite (and sometimes other utilities), I share stories like this as part of my reading.  If you’re interested, they’re posted to this board.  It’s just my way of keeping myself current and to make it available later.


One thought on “Popular Pins

  1. Enjoyed your “pin” thoughts, Doug. So many spaces I haven’t explored, but I appreciate a window view in from your sharing.

    I am not going to give you any flack for the # one :) I have been somewhat frustrated with # chats lately too. And now I have learned a new word from you (pontificate). I must live under a rock :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

