This Week in Ontario Edublogs


Here are some of the stories that caught my eye this week from Ontario Edubloggers.

K-12 Teachers
Heather Durnin added a new level of media in her classroom.  To blogs, collaborative docs, online chatting, she’s now added radio to the mix.  Read all about this new venture on her blog.  Will this spread in Ontario schools?

   

Trustees and Higher Education
Konrad Glogowski cross posted an article to GetIdeas about downloading evaluative knowledge.  There’s a great deal to think about in this posting.  He reflects back to the introduction of blogs to his students and how he used this media to really understand his students.  In the middle, he includes a diagram describing how to grow a blog.  The whole post is worth 2 or 3 reads to fully understand and it may give you fodder for those moments when you’re asked "Why are your students blogging?"

Parents / School Advocates
Lorna Costantini shared a reflective post about the webcast given to the Parents in Partners group.  In the post, she shared some interesting questions about the types of interactions that go on in typical Twitter discussions.  I think that, in my beginning, I may have been concerned about these sorts of things but I don’t any longer.  One of the things that I learned from a good friend of mine is to just shoot from the hip.  Get your thoughts out there and immerse yourself in the discussions.  I am certainly wrong in some of my thoughts but I value the redirection that my PLN offers when I am.  Perhaps I’m just hanging around with the nicest of people but I can’t think of any brutal flaming involving me for a long time.  Or, maybe I’m just oblivious of it.

From Principals, VPs, and Administrators
Brian Harrison leads off with a Bruce Springsteen quote so he had me hooked there.  Back to the article though…he talks about the activities that lead up to the March Break.  He talks about learning cycles and report cards.  It’s an interesting insight with a suggestion that things are going to be different this year.  It will be interesting to see if he follows up after the break to find out if it worked.

From Consultants and SATs
Michael Redfearn’s first sentence made me laugh.  He asked if OECTA had looked at the dangers of chalk dust in the classroom.  I think back to my own experience in Room B41, the chalkboard that had become unglued to form a big bubble and the incredibly soft yellow chalk that my school thought would be more effective than traditional white.  How far have we come since those days?  We now have presentations that incorporate multi-media at all levels, and if you will, the layer of an integrated internet into lessons adds a fourth dimension or layer to a lesson, a presentation, a project.  The ability to connect anytime, anywhere via wireless connections make this possible.  Michael takes issues with some of the positions in the recently published position paper from OECTA and backs it up with some pretty extensive research.

There’s definitely some great reading this week.  Check out these blog posts and so much more from the blogs of those involved in Ontario education.  A LiveBinder to them can be found here and a Scoop.it! here.

Powered by Qumana

OTR Links 03/02/2012


Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.