Evernote for Schools


I make no bones about it.  I’m a big Evernote fan.  I have Evernote on every device that I own.  No matter where I am, notes get synched to my account when I get connected to the internet.  If you follow this blog, you’ll know that I also have a number of IFTTT rules that keep track of things about me online in my Evernote account – Facebook images that I’m tagged in, Twitter messages that @ me to name a couple.

This afternoon, I received an email inviting me to check out a new service, Evernote for Schools.

I spent a little time poking around the resource.  There, you’ll find case studies and results from educators using Evernote in a number of situations.

The ideas are indeed interesting.  There are some great ideas there.  One of the areas that seemed to be missing which I think should really stand out would be the use of Evernote in Special Education.  With my Livescribe Pen, I received a premium account and I see huge potential in both products and the combination of both.

The site also offers a 50% discount on the purchase of Evernote Premium for schools.  Time will tell when this program takes off whether or not this becomes a viable commercial endeavour.  At present, I know that many people are using the free version of Evernote.  In talking with some friends who use the product, it’s a natural storage place for notes created on devices like iPads, Android tablets, iPods, etc.  Students don’t tend to take extensive notes on those devices but point form notes are nicely created, sent to Evernote accounts, and then fleshed out when access to a desktop or laptop computer.

Those people who are real supporters talk about the seemless home/school connection for notes.  The cloud storage offers an environment of always having access to notes.

I know that the folks at Evernote are interested in making this a success.  Those who are using it will become fans of the resources and I hope help make it grow.  Not all schools will have the ability to purchase premium accounts.  Perhaps it’s time for folks to hit the OSAPAC survey to see if an Ontario license is possible.

You can follow the project on Twitter with the account @evernoteschools.

OTR Links 02/08/2012


Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.