Getting More Comfortable with Pinterest

Today, I spent a little more time learning about how Pinterest works.  I think I’m starting to see the way that it might fit into my personal routine.  At present, I’m using:

  • This blog where I record my own original thoughts, share resources, or to comment on others;
  • Diigo to bookmark resources as I find them;
  • Posterous to tuck away interesting images and infographics;
  • Delicious to backup Diigo;
  • Amplify as a resource to save links that I want to comment on before sharing them and bookmarking them to Diigo.

Part of my reading routine is to take resources that I find, typically from my Zite reader, and send them to Twitter.  From there, I revisit the content and then tuck it away into one of the above locations.  It all has worked very well for me and I’m quite comfortable with that.  But, it’s something that works uniquely for me.

As I look at this routine, I see Pinterest as a way to organize and to extend what it is that I’m doing.  As for organizing, I’ve created a board on Pinterest called “Stories I’ve Zited“.  With this, I’m able to take the resources that I’ve found with Zite and put them in one spot.  What’s unique about the presentation from Pinterest is its ability to identify one graphic/media element from an article and make it part of the content that’s pinned.  It’s a very good visual but now becomes part of a collection.

I’m thinking that the visuals will allow me to more easily backtrack to an article from an image rather than the title or URL of an article.  I think that I’m really a visual learner.  I know that there are people who are interested in what I’m reading and so having them all aggregated into one board makes it easier to see them all in one spot.

So, I threw out all of the content that was created from the initial activation of my account.  I know what there are certain major topics that I focus on – Education, Programming, Macintosh, Windows, and Ubuntu – these became the new boards in my account.  (at least at the initial setup.  This might grow…)

Unlike the paradigm of Diigo or Delicious where you tag stories and articles with key words, I liken this as a collection of silos which are filled (pinned) with content.

Like most social networks, you have the ability to follow or be followed.  This extends the power of the curation.  Pinterest makes it very easy to take a resource that someone else has located and turn into a link on your own board.  Mousing over any item pinned lets you “like” it or “repin” it within your own collection.  If you’ve used any social network, you’ll immediately recognize the actions that are possible.  The key is to find good researchers on your topics of interest.

And, for new content, the “Pin it” bookmark lets you pin virtually any page onto one of your own boards.

The cool thing about Pinterest is that it appears to be flexible enough to turn it into any type of curation that you need/want.  It does have one restriction in that it requires at least one graphic or movie on a page being pinned so that you can pin it.  I see potential in this as an organizer.

I’m also seeing this as a presentation tool.  Unlike using a presentation package like Powerpoint or Prezi where you’re limited to a linear presentation of content, you could conceivably put an entire presentation onto a board as a collection or items pinned.  That would allow you the flexibility of jumping over a topic that you’ve elected not to use as the presentation happens.  More to that as my knowledge matures.  In the meantime, I’m having a great time learning new things and imagining just what is possible with this powerful tool.

Powered by Qumana

5 thoughts on “Getting More Comfortable with Pinterest”

  1. I’ve been trying to “pin” pages but I’m getting the message “Sorry, we can’t see any big images or videos on this page.” Have you had that issue? Any suggestions anyone?

    Like

Leave a Reply

