A Top 10 List to Make You Think


As the year comes to an end, there are top 10 lists all over the place.

  • Top 10 New Blogs;
  • Top 10 Educational Blogs;
  • Some people are even identifying the top 10 blog entries in their blog; (geesh)
  • Top 10 Educational Twitterers;
  • and so on.

You get the idea.  I don’t typically read these types of posts.  They tend to be written in an egotistical manner or as the result of a popularity contest.  But, that’s just me.  I think everyone’s blog is great.  If someone has taken the time to put their thoughts to a post and then share it with the world, they’re aces with me.  I don’t care if they have three or three thousand readers.

But, there was a top list that I did spend some time reading and thinking about.  Beyond the list, there are some things to really ponder.  First of all, it’s not really a popularity contest – it’s based on verifiable numbers.  Secondly, it’s an eye opener as to the state of being online and sheds some light on ethics.  When we think about the lawmakers that want to legislate against piracy, a common argument made is that these people wouldn’t know the difference between a mouse and a joystick.

The list I’m referring to is “Top 10 Most Pirated Games of 2011“.  In the post, you’ll find the top five pirated titles by machine type – PC Games, Wii, and Xbox 360.  Each of the titles are ranked by the estimated number of downloads via BitTorrent.

The number one title in the category of PC Games is Crysis 2 by EA.  If I was interested in a purchase, I’d run out to BestBuy and lay down $39.99.  According to the chart, this title has been downloaded approximately 3 920 000 times through BitTorrent.  Doing the mathematics, this results in revenue lost of $156 760 800.  That’s a lot of money for software vendors and software developers to be interested in recovering.  Factor in sales taxes, and that’s a lot of money for governments to be interested in recovering.

That’s for just one title.

Extend that logic to the dollar figures for all of the software and it gets to be a pretty impressive number.  Then, let’s throw in productivity titles.  Then, let’s throw in movies.  It helps me understand at least part of one side of the SOPA discussion.  This isn’t the place to get into that – I would need to understand all sides better.

In these days when we’re reading the “best of” lists, or in my case not reading, I found this one to be particularly significant in terms of making me think.  Shouldn’t that really be the purpose of a “Top 10 List”?

This represents the last post that I’m planning for the year 2011.  It was a wonderful year for me on a personal level.  I got to meet so many new people online; I was fortunate enough to meet many of you face to face; and I was so fortunate to be able to work and plan and talk and just think with so many others.  My profound appreciation goes out to all of you.  I wish everyone a wonderful 2012, full of learning and discovery and full of health and happiness.

Powered by Qumana

OTR Links 12/31/2011


Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.