The Price Is Right And You Get So Much More


I belong to a number of professional computer organizations.  Early in my teaching career, my friend Grover indicated that there was one that I absolutely had to belong to.  That was MACUL.  (Michigan Association for Computer Users in Learning)  I join this organization and have never looked back.  They published an awesome paper journal and hosted some of the very best computer teaching conferences that I’ve ever attended.  Due to the geography, they bounce their annual conference between Detroit and Grand Rapids.

The Detroit Conference is so convenient – just hop the Tunnel Bus to Cobo and you’re there.  On the other hand, Grand Rapids is a few hour drive to one of the most beautiful cities that I’ve ever visited.  I look forward to attending these conferences as time, finances, and Spring Break conflicts permit.  Over the years, I’ve met some of the most incredible of educators at these events and this has turned into invitations to attend other similar events in the state and to, of course, present at the events.

In addition to a web presence at http://www.macul.org, the organization hosts its own Ning at https://maculspace.ning.com/.  Great people and great resource; what more could you want?

How about free membership?

That was the message that we members received today and it’s announced on their website.

image

Now, this is great news.  For Michigan educators, you can now belong to your own local computing organization at no cost.  The 4,000 that are current members will open the doors “around the world”.  What a great deal.

Join one of the premiere computing organizations, take a look at the variety of special interest groups, use the shared resources, and attend their great conference.  For the computer using teacher in search of better and better things, it doesn’t get much better than this.

OTR Links 12/06/2011


Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.