About Klout

David Truss posted this image on his blog

Recently, I had the opportunity to think seriously about Klout.  Like many people, I had checked out my Klout.  I tracked it over a couple of weeks and noticed that it did, in fact, seem to adjust itself based upon the interactions that I was having online.  When I had created an interesting blog post, it generated some Twitter discussion and the count would go up.  When I missed the mark, it went down.  It seemed to make a great deal of sense.

In fact, I had started to imagine how one could use Klout as part of the educational experience.  I started to look at the Klout of world leaders.  Stephen Harper has Klout of 61; Barrack Obama has Klout of 48.

As I’m creating this blog post, I’m also participating in the Critical Thinking chat.  #ctchat  Certainly, the concept of Klout is a little off the wall and an interesting concept.  In fact, many Twitter clients and you can get Twitter itself to post a Klout score beside message posters via a Google Chrome plugin.  Presumably, this would let you understand the importance and credibility of the poster.  But, should we let a service generate a number between 1 and 100 or should we read and make our own decisions as to the credibility of someone who posts online?

I know that Klout means a great deal to some people and they’re actively giving and getting Ks to try to raise that score.  Many hang their hat on that magic number.  As their Klout goes, so do they.  But, is there a price to be paid?

Recently, there has been a rash of reports like this one.  We are living in times where information and the use of it is exploding in new directions.  The developers at Klout are creating something new from the information that we’re offering up for free.  Is it a game to get ahead?  Is it really a true representation of your online influence?  Will the big influencers get perks for being so influential?  Or, is this just another way to build an online profile that would be worth money to advertisers?

Where is the value in influence?  Where do you check in with the chart above?

p.s. literally seconds after I queued this up for posting, I read this post.  No question about a position here!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: How Much Klout Do You Have In The Digital World? | EssayBoard

Leave a Reply

