Einstein wrote this post

Standard

Thanks, cutegeek.tumblr.com

If you ponder Einstein’s quote, it really puts assessment, teaching, professional development and a whole lot of other things into perspective.  If you’ve ever stood in front of a classroom at whatever level and looked out on the eager faces, you know exactly what I mean.

How many times have you sat and wondered just how you were going to reach out to every individual in your charge to teach or to help them learn or to learn with them so that they can be successful?  How often have you taken the time to modify things so that everyone has a chance of "getting it"?  How often have you sat down beside someone to explain for the umpteenth time how something works.

Good teachers do it all the time.

Good professional developers do it all the time.

"I never teach my pupils.  I only attempt to provide the conditions in which they can learn." – Albert Einstein

I recall a former superintendent reciting something that he heard somewhere "Not the same way, not the same day".  I recall the frustration and, at times, tears (hers and mine) of a student who tries as hard as she can but still can’t get her mind around it.  And yet, she perseveres and on the millionth time finally understands enough.

"If A is success in life, then A equals x plus y plus z.  Work is x; y is play; and z is keeping your mouth shut." – Albert Einstein

I recall a good friend of mine who was a music consultant who sang her way through the day asking me once if she intimidated me with her artsy ways.  I found it ironic because I’d always played a musical instrument but finally reached an insurmountable point when the fun of learning became 100% academic.  She confided in me once that she was intimidated because of whatever skills I might have had.  But, we hugged and knew that as a team we were better than either of us alone.  I loved mathematics; she loved music.  I loved problems to solve; she loved creating something from scratch.  What a joy!  She turned to me at times, I turned to her.  Both of us offered all kinds of professional learning opportunities to try and reach everyone we could.

In the end, I would like to think that we were both successful in what we did.

"Try not to become a man of success but rather to become a man of value" – Albert Einstein

I think of classes that I’ve had the honour of teaching.  In computer science, you have the latitude to have students solve problems customized to their interest.  You try to find something that appeals to every fish and yet it’s the same high standard for each of them.

The closer that you get to the actual point of learning, the more effective you can be; the more accurate your assessment will be.  I don’t need to go any further; you know the next logical inference. 

"Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted." – Albert Einstein

Many thanks to the Quotations Page for the quotes attributed to Einstein.

Powered by Qumana

OTR Links 10/03/2011

Standard

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.