Access :: Future


I’m on a roll.

In addition to the previous post with all kinds of Open Source software, I was doing my daily read of Stephen Downes’ OLDaily.  There was one entry that particularly caught my eye.  It was a book that he ha written titled “Access :: Future – Practical Advice on How to Learn and What to Learn“.

It’s a PDF file suitable for immediate download which I’ve done.  It comes as no surprise that Stephen has licensed it under a Creative Commons license – nice.

Check out the Table of Contents.

Learning Today 

  • Introduction  
  • The Purpose of Learning 
  • Things You Really Need To Learn 
  • The Mark of Wisdom 
  • Critical Thinking in the Classroom
  • Necessary and Sufficient Conditions 
  • Not All… 
  • Educational Blogging 
  • Your Career 
  • Managing Your Blog Entry: 11 Better Tips 
  • Blogs in Education 
  • How To Write Articles Quickly and Expertly  
  • Principles for Evaluating Websites 
  • Applying Critical Reasoning 
  • How Do You Know? 
  • Having Reasons 
  • How Memory Works 
  • How The Net Works 
  • An Operating System For The Mind 
  • Personal Knowledge: Transmission or Induction? 
  • Virtues Education 
  • Free Learning and Control Learning  
  • The Science of Learning  
  • E-Learning 2.0 
  • To The School or Classroom 2.0 Advocates 
  • The Issues in Front of Us  
  • The Form of Informal 
  • Uniqueness and Conformity 
  • New Technology Supporting Informal Learning 
  • How I Would Organize A Conference 
  • What I Learned in High School 
  • My Personal Passion Trajectory 
  • My Academic Upbringing 
  • Social Media and Me 
  • Seven Habits of Highly Connected People 
  • The Reality of Virtual Learning 
  • Nine Rules for Good Technology  
  • What Not To Build 
  • Ten Futures  

The book is a collection of Mr. Downes’ thinking and original writing over a period of time.  It’s not a book that you should or will read from beginning to end.  I’d suggest that you install it on your computer or reading device and read a chapter at a time and take time to see the relevance to you.  It’s not necessary to even read it in order.

You need to download this book and read it.  You need to share it with your colleagues.  You need a book talk about this.  From the entries, great conversations and learning should ensue.

An Open Source Goldmine


I’m excited.

Like many people, I want to have it all.  While I’m working on moving most of what I do to the web, there are still times when nothing beats having the right software on your computer.  Like many people of my ilk, I work interchangeably in Windows, Macintosh, and Ubuntu environments.  If I had to purchase a piece of software for every task that I perform, I would be even poorer than I am now.

So, the web is a perfect solution for me.  More often than not, when that fails, I’ll turn to Open Source software.  You’ll find some incredibly talented programmers turning out some of the best software there and it’s ready for you to use.  More often that not, they’ll have compiled their wares into an executable ready to run.  At times, you may have to download the source and compile it yourself.  Often what you get when you’re done is great software.

I had run into author Cynthia Harvey a while back and quite frankly, had forgotten until I stumbled onto the article 55 Open Source Apps Transforming Education.  I read it from top to bottom, creating a to-download list as I was doing so.  I was rubbing my hands in anticipation of this goldmine when I returned to the first page and saw that the article was over a year old.  That’s not too bad in this day and age but I started to wonder if she’d updated it for this year.

It was actually pretty easy – there was a link to “More Articles” where I got a list of articles by Ms. Harvey.  Jackpot!

Not only had she updated the education list, but she’s got a number of other articles.

What the heck.  Why am I copying these individual pages — here’s a summary of articles she’s written.

If you’re searching for that elusive application, why not start with these articles and see what she has to offer?

Of particular interest to me was the list of Open Source Apps that Replace Popular Education Software.  Educators in Ontario are generally pretty well off with software licensed by the Ministry of Education through the OESS process.  The complete list can be searched on the OSAPAC website.  But, there are times where there may be a gap in your suite of software or you might be looking for titles to recommend for student home use.  This is the perfect place to start.

 

OTR Links for 08/10/2011


Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.