Google Plus to Evernote

There is a great deal of terrific content that people are sharing on Google Plus.  Some of it is great links to resources whereas other content is people’s original thoughts and/or discussion.  Sometimes, it’s even things that I want to read later.

Now, for the links, I have a technique for keeping them for later.  A link can be sent to Diigo or Instapaper so that I don’t lose track of them.  But, what to do with the rest of it?

That’s where Evernote comes into play.  It’s a great place to tuck away these clippings and resources.  I use the following technique and it’s very fast and almost effortless.  And, it shows another use for Circles.

Here’s what to do.  Log into your Evernote account and to your settings.  If you take a look at your “Account Summary”, there’s a special email address that is tied to your account.  You’re going to want to keep it private but it does the magic in this case.  Make a note of the special email address.

Now, head over to Google Plus and create a new Circle.  You’re going to add one person to this Circle.  This person is your special Evernote Email Address.

Now, when you want to take a post to Evernote, just send it to this circle and you’ve got it.  I haven’t been able to send it to a specific folder in the account so that remains something that I do manually after the fact.  It’s such a simple process.

So, on a roll, why can’t I do the same thing to send a message from Google Plus to Twitter.  In the back of my mind, I seem to remember a setting in my Twitter account where I could post by email.  But, alas, either it was there at one time and gone now or I was dreaming.  But, there is another way.

Twittermail is a service that lets you send it an email message and it posts to your Twitter account.  So, the route would go from Google Plus to a Circle to Twittermail to Twitter.  It would work although it introduces another service into the middle of things.  While it would work, it’s convoluted even for me.  I think I’ll pass and wait for something a little simplere.

Powered by Qumana

One thought on “Google Plus to Evernote

  1. Pingback: Google Plus to Evernote « doug – off the record | Pay With Google Plus

Leave a Reply

