Feedly


OK, I admit it.  I have a problem.  I am hooked on reading stories and blogs and resources.  I can’t put it down and lately, I’ve added a new reader to my toolkit.

Introducing Feedly for the iPad.  It fits in nicely with my other readers…Flipboard, Zite, Pulse News, Reddit, and the LCARS Reader.  I really should downsize but I’m so impressed with all of these products.  I just keep them hanging on!

What I particularly find attractive about a new reader is that they’re shipping already configured for a bunch of information services and Feedly is no different.  I find it a nice way to find things to read that I might not normally have found.  So, right out of the box, there are connections to some terrific resources.  All that I had to do immediately was connect my resources that I have tucked away in my Google Reader.  Now, they’re available as just additional content in the reader.

Even while you’re reading what you’ve already chosen for the Feedly Reader, suggestions for additional reads appear in the bottom right.  Does it ever end?

The whole notion of gestures for navigation has changed the way that I read.  Unlike a reader on a computer which can be very mouse intensive, a simple right to left swipe takes you to the next article.

On a particular article, you can like it, bookmark it, email it, send out a Twitter message, format for a portable device or do some document management including opening it in Safari.  The only feature that I wish I could use was Instapaper from directly inside Feedly.  That would be terrific.

I’ve been using this reader for about a week and am very impressed with its functionality and responsiveness.  I think it’s a winner and well worth the download if you’re interested in reading using your iPad.

In the meantime, I continue to wrestle with how many readers I have on my iPad and the time that I devote to it.

Powered by Qumana

OTR Links for 05/19/2011


Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.