18.6 Million Blogs are #Winning


Sorry, but I’m been wanting to use #winning in a blog entry for a while now.

When I first started blogging, I used a closed system that was hosted by my employer.  By today’s standards, it didn’t have many features (unless you count bold and italics as features) but someone was championing it so I thought I would humour her and give it a shot.  It didn’t last long as I started to look around.  At the time, I narrowed my choices down to two – Blogger and WordPress.  In fact, I started a blog using both platforms so that I could evaluate the pros and cons of each and decided to lay my keystrokes down in WordPress and I continue to use it to this day.

I haven’t regretted the decision a bit.

I’ve mentioned many times before that I enjoy the analytics, the functionality, the spam catching, and so much more.  Within the past week, I’ve come to appreciate it for another reason.

In an effort to keep its 18.6 million blogs on the cutting edge, WordPress has partnered with Onswipe to provide an upgraded experience for visitors to WordPress blogs using an iPad.  A unique theme is presented when a browser lands on your blog and announces "Hey, I’m an iPad".  At that point, a very visual, swiping experience awaits.

You’ll notice the "swipe me" instruction.  That lets you navigate into your blog.  I don’t know how long the novelty of having a landing page for the blog will last but it’s pretty cool at present!

The most recent blog entry appears as a featured story at the top of the page.  You’ll notice that a few of the recent posts also appear on the page.  Tap the blog entry where a page opens containing the complete entry.  You’ll be able to scroll to read, use Twitter, etc.  Just like other iPad applications that have multiple pages, a swipe to the right or a swipe to the left turns the page in a very graphical manner.

You’ll notice a menu button at the top of the page.  Tap the button and you can browse through entries filtered by category.

All in all, it’s a very enjoyable browsing experience.  Kudos to the developers of Onswipe and to WordPress for incorporating this into the blog hosting.

If you’re using WordPress, make sure that things are done your way.  Head over to the Admin page and in the Appearance area, you’ll find a new item entitled iPad.  From here, you can upload a landing page image, choose a theme colour (if you know me, you’ll know that I leapt at the green option), and the upload an avatar of a really ugly guy – make sure that the iPad option is checked on and your blog is configured.

The magic of WordPress and the Onswipe theme then kick in.  It’s great to see all of the options that are available when you configure utilities available through the web.  18.6 million blogs are #winners.

Powered by Qumana

OTR Links for 03/28/2011


Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.