This Week in Ontario Edublogs


There were some great readings and thoughts from our list of Ontario Edubloggers this week.   There was even the start of an online experiment.  I hope that you’ve taken the time to follow some of the goings-on.  If not, please check out the LiveBinder site to see the great collection that we have in the Province.  If you’re not in the list, please consider completing the form and adding your blog.

From K-12 Teachers
Danika Barker from the Barker Blog is the one who is experimenting.  She’s attempting to combine social media (Twitter) with a Shakespearean classic (Hamlet).  It will be interesting to see how this plays out.  If it works, it could be a cutting edge initiative that others might model.  If it doesn’t work, they’ll have a great time with it.

You even had to audition to get in!  It’s already generating some discussion.  I’m really interested to see how this project plays out.

 

 

From Trustees and Higher Education
Joan Vinall-Cox shared a Slideshare presentation created by Jane Hart dealing with workplace learning.  Part of the power that comes from this group of Ontario bloggers is the sharing and openness of thought.  I like that people find great resources, personally evaluate them, and then pass them along so that we’re all better as a result.  Thanks, Joan, or we might have missed this one altogether.

 

 

From Principals, VPs, and Administration
Rob DeLorenzo pitched a lesson in humility and collaboration.  He talked about people who blog using the word “I” instead of the word “we”.  It was an interesting post and I see his point but I’m not sure that I necessarily agree.  I think that it’s nice to talk about collaborative successes, but I don’t know that it’s always possible.  I know that I use this blog in that manner, but I also like to use it to experiment with things by myself.  And, I just used “I” a whole bunch of times.  Gotta think about this one.  Hey, you can remove an “I” by using Twitter-speak…

 

 

From Consultants and SATs
Zoe Brannigan-Pipe shared some of her experiences with the Scratch programming language.  Between the lines, I think I can read some of the problem with generating students interesting in computer programming.  Scratch is such a powerful language and I’d like to see it introduced to students earlier than the traditional Ontario high school placement.  But, where does it fit into an already stuffed curriculum?  Instead, Zoe’s boys get a chance to learn about programming at home.  It’s a great opportunity for them but I wonder about their classmates.

 

 

These are but a few of the excellent thought-provoking posts that Ontario Educators have created recently.  Stay on top of them all by following the LiveBinder site.  It’s a resource that WE Ontario Educators continue to build and fill with rich content.  How’s that, Rob?

Powered by Qumana

OTR Links for 03/04/2011


Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.