Happy Hallowe’en


One of the joys of blogging is giving yourself license to talk about whatever you want, whenever you want and so on the morning of this spooky day, just a couple of things about Hallowe’en.

First, for movie buffs, Turner Classic Movies has been awesome this week with runs of movies with direct horror in them.  While I blogged earlier about Vincent Price, the offerings this week on TCM reminds me of the genius of Bela Lugosi, Boris Karloff and later Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee.

But, you don’t have to go to the movies to experience the out of the ordinary.  From the Huffington Post, there were a couple of interesting photo essays published.  I quite enjoyed America’s 9 Most Haunted Hotels and 10 Hotels with Spooky Ghost Stories in the U.S.  I wonder if there might not be a Top 10 Transylvania Hotels list somewhere!  Speak off hotels, I’ve experienced some of them myself and actually blogged about them.  I could never forget the night that we spent at the Gunter Hotel in San Antonio at the NECC Conference.  It was there that I learned that San Antonio is the ghostiest place in the United States.  Or, at least that’s what the tourism people say!

Scary things don’t have to be ghostly.  How about when crop circles are found near where you used to live!

 

 

And, being at the right place at the right time lets you photograph them yourself!

 

dscf0330

 

Yes, it’s all these ghost stories and events to play with your mind that make Hallowe’en truly interesting.

Have a great one!

links for 2010-10-30