Where Streetview ends…


…people kick in.

Yesterday was such a beautiful and so we thought that we’d take a drive to Leamington and visit the beautiful Point Pelee National Park.  The temperature was in the low 20s and the sun incredibly bright and it was just perfect for taking some photographs.

Off I went with, as friend @pbeens would say, my good camera.  I think that I got some great shots that afternoon.  I put them all together in a set here on my Flickr account.

Welcome

I even paused and held my camera steady enough to capture a little of the action at The Tip.  The Tip is really unique as the water from the east meets the water from the west.  It results in wave action that you’ll never see anywhere else.  The whole area is a unique study as you can walk from an east beach to a west beach in a matter of minutes and see the difference that prevaling winds can make on sand.

West Beach
West Side "Beach"

East Beach
East Side Beach

No trip is complete without a walk through the Boardwalk which takes you into the marsh.  On a regular summer day, you can see all kinds of birds, water snakes, and turtles. 

Boardwalk

Oddly enough, all that was around was a little frog and he hopped across while I had the lens cap on my camera.  I really did have my hopes up for some wildlife shots as the "Turtle crossing" signs were up.  No luck.

The real treat is to get to The Tip.  South of the 42nd parallel, it is the southern most part of mainland Canada.  It is a living, moving entity and always a surprise to see.  It’s in a very protected area of the park only accessible by foot or a shuttle from the Visitor Centre.  A few years ago, The Tip was actually a little nub as erosion and water levels had covered most of it.  It was terrific to see it back during this visit.  When we first arrived, we were about the only people there, resulting in a great photo opportunity.

The Southernmost part of Canada

Much more appears in the complete photo set.  As I was admiring my pictures, I started to get curious.  Google’s Streetview is virtually everywhere.  I wonder if they had photo-mapped the park.  As I moved my little yellow dude around, it appears that the camera didn’t make it past the gates.  Instead, the entire park is documented with pictures contributed by others.  Of particular interest is The Tip and there are many images that you’ll find there from all seasons.  I like this particular one as it clearly shows the different shape of the tip.

What a terrific demonstration of how this unique location changes.  Look how there are waves coming on shore from both directions.

Also, what a great spirit of pulling together.  Between Streetview and the contributions of others, we can investigate areas and entities together.  Is there no end to our quest for exploration?

Powered by Qumana

links for 2010-09-29