Getting Organized


I think that, like a lot of people, my computer desktop becomes a repository of files over time.  It’s just so easy to do an export or a save and send it to the Desktop rather than poke around looking for an appropriate folder to save it.   The ultimate plan is to file it away afterwards.  Afterwards never seems to happen. Well, actually, it does – usually a few minutes before a presentation where I want to give the impression that I am organized.  If there’s enough time, I’ll file them appropriately but typically I’ll throw them into a new folder called “Doug’s Work” until I can get at them.

But, in the interim, they’ll just float around messing things up.

Lately, I’ve been trying to change my habits and at least corral them accordingly.  You can corral files just like you would horses, by using Fences.  Fences is an incredibly effective utility that seems to be helping me get my desktop in order.  You can go with the default or customize areas on your desktop to suit your needs.  The fenced in areas can have an adjustable level of transparency so that you can have as much or as little of your desktop showing through as you wish.

 

image

So, superimposed over my desktop, I have this.  I’m really liking the concept and it’s certainly keeping me organized.  It almost looks like I know what I’m doing!

An added feature is that a quick double click on the desktop hides everything (unless you wish to exclude an item).

Fences comes in both a free and commercial version and may be downloaded from here.

links for 2010-08-16