The Price of Transparency…


…is really time.  When you’re living your learning with others, they know how to contact you.  When you work in a job where email is a primary area of support, they know how to contact you.  When you have a publically available email address, they know how to contact you.
Operative words here are “they know how to contact you”.  That’s not always necessarily a good thing.
Part of my morning routine is to head to the computer and check the overnight contacts.    It’s here that I really appreciate a book that I read in high school.  It was all about how to speed read!  Not the personally crafted message that YOU sent to ME pouring your heart out, of course, but for every other message!
The first step is to take a skim through the headers and I like to zero in on the EDTECH mailing list.  Maybe it’s nostalgia, but it was the first mailing list that I can remember subscribing to and remain subscribed to each day.  The second step is then to look for messages from my support person and my supervisor.  I have a rule written so that they appear in red and marked “URGENT” so that I don’t miss them.  Then, the final step is to answer any calls for support or advice or general conversations with colleagues.  But, there’s a step before the final one and that’s to clear out the spam, phishing, and other garbage that happened to get through the content filter.
It’s this step that takes the most time.  I know that people promise “we’ll never sell your email address” but more and more I’m convinced that’s just something that was covered in marketing class and it’s just done anyway.  It does take a while to get through the overseas offers, medical breakthroughs, and credit card verification messages but then I’m done.  How does this get through the filters?  If it’s true that 80% of email is spam, what kind of silliness got caught?
But, this morning, things were a little different.  I fire up my email client and head over to check things out and I get.

Say what?

What do you do when this happens?  I know what I do.  I try again, clicking harder on the connect button!  Nothing.

Is my internet connection working?  I check out another mail account.  Yep.  It works.  Back to the original account and it’s still not there.  I actually laughed as I had a mental flashback to university and Pavlov’s dogs and Classical Conditioning.

It’s true.  No email.  Well, live goes on – I shave, get dressed, and head down for breakfast.  My wife’s comment was interesting.  “Why are you up so early?”  I glance at the clock and realize that I’m time shifted by at least half an hour.

Wow.

The mathematician in me multiplies half and hour by seven days and then by four weeks and then by 12 months.

It’s time.  No question.  It accumulates.  In the beginning, it was just email as conversation.  Now, it’s that plus the effects that being transparent brings to the process.

There is a price in terms of time.  For the transparent, connected learner, there does need to be an accounting and a life value placed upon the amount of time that you commit to it.

links for 2010-06-01