links for 2008-10-24


Flock 2


It was a pleasant surprise this morning.  The developers of the Flock web browser were pushing out the official release of version 2 of the web browser.

This has long been my browser of choice with its functionality and security inherited from Firefox, paired with social networking functionality.

In the beta releases, there were all kinds of features added to the full suite in place already.

  • My world
  • Built-in RSS reader
  • Integration with DIGG
  • Built in blog editor (using it right now)
  • Media browsing
  • Add Firefox plug-ins
  • Browse your friends from your Facebook, Twitter, …
  • Integrate with web email
  • Web clippings
  • Upload images from your computer
  • Share a link via email
  • and so much more

Today turned out to be a banner day.  I’m in the middle of working on something and I get a notice that there are updates to Add-ons.

This wasn’t totally unexpected.  After all, with the release of a new browser, add-on developers may have to do some tweaking to preserver functionality.  This time, one of the add-ons that had an update was CoolIris.  Sigh.  Big deal.  There have been updates to this phenomenal tool on a regular basis but they never solve the fact that it just didn’t work with Flock.  I apply it anyway.  Upon reboot, I see that the faded button now has full colour.

Could it be?

Oh yeah!  CoolIris and Flock 2 are now happily working with each other.

Browser wise, I’m incredibly happy.  My favourite browser is now out of Beta and one of my favourite add-ons now works.

Does it get any better than this?

If you are looking for something to do this weekend, download the official release of Flock and kick the tires.  You may be another convert.

Social Bookmarks:
Blogged with the Flock Browser