links for 2008-10-06

Standard

What’s in a Phone?

Standard

This fall, we totally upgraded the telephone system where I worked. 

Gone is the old PBX; in is the IP Phone Network.

Now, when I first sat down in front of my new phone, I was amazed by all of the buttons.  Here’s a phone with a menu button and all kinds of menu items.  I actually started to play around with it and started to customize some of the various features.  I like new things and find now that telephones, like computers and digital watches, can be plain vanilla when you take them out of the box.  However, with a little playing around, there are tonnes of things that you can mess with and customize.

Like most pieces of technology, it comes with its own set of jargon.  I learned what “Call Park” meant and also that there were a number of different ways to search the directory of common phone numbers plus include your own.  And, of course, you have to program your quick function keys.  The first thing, that will buy me a great deal of appreciation is to program the ET button.  i.e. “Call Home”.  Family will enjoy seeing that as the first thing…well right next to the “Do Not Disturb” button.  Odd that those would be in the same proximity!

So, you customize ring tones, colour of the flasher and so much more.  As I’m diddling around with the option, I kind of wish that I’d taken notes to leave an electronic trail of breadcrumbs in case I tire of the new settings and want to restore.  But, documentation is for cowards so I move on.  There was one feature that I couldn’t for the life of me figure out and so I broke down and asked for help.  Turns out, it wasn’t user-definable and had to be programmed at the source.  Somewhat exhonerated, I pressed on.

I spent far too much time messing around after work with this thing and quickly realized that I was going to be late for supper. 

On the drive home, I think of all of the digital devices that we have in our lives.  I don’t want to be one of Wes Borg’s “12 o’clock flashers”.  At least, I’m going to have a noticeably different ring tone.

Blogged with the Flock Browser